That Innocent Note

I was just on Facebook, going through one of my former classmates friends list, just being curious of who I could find. I found another former classmate, this one was a guy. At first, I had to read his name to myself because I wasn’t for sure what we actually called him in school. I literally forgot if we called him by his first name or a nickname. My brain is a little misty today, but I realized his name on Facebook was what we called him at school. This guy is married and has a kid. I haven’t talked to him in years.

The grade was third. The “in” thing back then was to write out “will you marry me?” on a piece of paper, fold it up nicely and give it to your crush. Then they would answer it and give it back to the original person or the buddy of the person who wrote it out. I got two of these damn things that year. We were extremely young and it was adorable. When a boy asks a handicapped girl if they want to marry them at that age, shows bravery that they don’t care about looks and like I said, it was the “in” thing to do back then. Now everybody just texts it on their phones asking if they want to hang out. Times have really changed.

Honestly, I wasn’t a big fan of this new trend and getting a little note at recess almost every two months was annoying as crap. I don’t think I ever said yes, which would have stopped all of those other ones. I did like this one boy though. Back then though, getting a crush wasn’t so cliché. You definitely didn’t get made fun of it nonstop like I did. It wasn’t until I got into 5th grade that my crush list kept getting bigger and bigger. Anyways, we were just about to go to recess and if I remember right, we had a sub that day. Everybody was getting ready to put on their jackets and get ready, well I made out my little note and had my friends pass it around to his seat. Well, our sub left the room beforehand, I guess my crush got ahold of the note, read it, and attempted to throw it away. He got out of his seat, which wasn’t allowed by the sub. The next thing I remember was one of the other teachers coming in and seeing him put it in the trash and make a break to his desk. She asked what he was doing and he I guess, told her that he was throwing away the note. She picks it up and gets mad (even though it was totally innocent!) and makes us both write our names for recess detention. I use to stay inside for recess, so honestly that wasn’t a bad thing. The fact that he throw away the note and I got in trouble pissed me off. I remember bawling my eyes out.

So everytime I think or see that other kid’s name I think of that one freaking year and hot I got in trouble for something that corny. However, it didn’t teach me a thing. When I was a freshman in high school, I wrote another note for this guy not about how I’d like to marry him. God no. I’m glad I never did that. That part I did learn. The crush back then, just played along. I still feel bad for the poor dude. The one from Elementary though, apparently he has never liked me. I don’t blame him. Everytime I tried to talk to him, it would be kind of awkward for me. He wouldn’t talk much to me, if we had classes together. It was just weird, but I haven’t tried to get him to talk to me. If a person doesn’t like you and isn’t talking shit about you behind your back, consider that a blessing in disguise.