The “Favorite” Trait.

In every family I think has their favorite things they like. When they start a family of their own. They try to give their kids a piece of what they grew up on. Sometimes you don’t even know you’re doing it until your toddler goes freaking insane about that show you watch all the time. I was born in the early nineties and so some of the 80’s inspired movies and TV shows were apart of the new parents back then. My mom is the perfect example of this. I don’t necessary remember how old I was when my mom first let me watch the Back to the Future trilogy, but I had to be really young. My cousins Chris and Kristi are in the same boat as me. We all have this BTTF and Mad About You thing, that we can’t explain. These are classics for us and we seem to never get enough of them.

For me, it was BTTF, Mad About You, Purple Rain, Bad Boys, Wizard of Oz, Mary Poppins, and Scooby-Doo. There’s more, but I don’t feel like listing them all right now. Everytime any of these movies or TV shows come on, we’re probably both watching it and quoting it. We are that bad! Now over the summer, my sister started to bring out her half of the trait. She doesn’t like any of these shows at all. However, there is one that she has no problem with whatsoever. She loves Major Payne. Mom, again, was the one who got us into it. I was never a big fan of it. I thought it was hilarious in parts, but not on my “can’t get enough” category. Emily and mom can quote that sucker from start to finish, but the really funny part is Emily hates when mom and I quote and sing the songs on Wizard of Oz. I should plan a payback for this.

I would love to continue this little trait onto my kids. I know I remember when I was little I was not the nicest person when mom wanted to watch something different from 90’s nick toons. This is what I did for when she wouldn’t let me listen to Backstreet Boys, so I’d be mean when she wanted to listen to 80’s rock and R&B music. Anyways, I can already scene my kids being mean about the different music from now and later on in life. Sharing movies and TV shows is another thing considering I was about seven years old when I watched most of these shows. Bad Boys was one of my first rated R movies I watched when I was little, and I blame that movie on my action-gun movie obsession I seem to have after all these years. Bad Boys isn’t that bad to watch, not as bad as certain others I’ve watched recently.