My Own Charlie Brown Christmas Tree

10858519_377363749106959_8052234206917278829_n

You might remember a couple of years ago, my mom bought me this nice little purple Christmas tree because I wasn’t in the Christmas spirit, kind of like this year. I don’t remember if I had asked for her to go look for one if she went out and did my nana’s errands or what, but while I was at work she and my dad went out Christmas shopping and found this little tree by accident and my mom had to buy it for me. I was so glad that she did because I think it bring my spirits up a bit. It was nice and shiny, came with white lights too! After the holidays were over, while we put away our bigger tree in the living room. I didn’t necessarily want this little guy stuffed inside a cold box for the whole year. So we kept him out and put him on top of one of my stereo speakers. I never used him last year for some odd reason, but recently I got this black and skull garland for my birthday from our neighbors. My dad had placed it around my tree and thus got me in the mood to decorate it more!

I talked to my mom about what we could do with it. I went online and tried to search for smaller ornaments, but there wasn’t anything that came in a set and majority of them I did find were expensive! So that basically crushed my dreams a little, but of course! Leave it to my mom to find small ornaments while she was on her lunch break at work. They are sliver ornaments-shatter proof! We tried to wrap the skull garland around the tree, but unfortunately it’s too long and I was too afraid that the paper skulls were get too hot around the lights and start a fire in my room! Right now it’s just the ornaments on it, but I think it looks pretty cute! The only bad part about the ornaments though was they didn’t come with hooks, so I couldn’t place them directly on the tree but since Blondie was home for the night, she and my mom put the ends of the stems through the holes of the ornaments, which we quickly figured out that those aren’t shatter proof. My sister kind of had a bit too much fun though because she put one right on top, where you’d place the angel on a normal tree. My mom has been calling it “Cyclops” ever since. Now he’s got himself a name too!

My friend Sara from Bloo ‘n” Stuff blogged about what her tree and room looked like for Christmas. She gave me an idea to kind of decorate my tree a little bit more. She used beads as garland to wrap around it. It dawned on me that, that’s what my cousin Kristi did to my nana’s tree too! Duh! I’ve got a lot of different bead necklaces that I can place on it that I still have from Plummer. My mom has majority of them in her car up on her mirror. I might’ve found a way to get those back finally! My sister has to get through this week before she can come home for Christmas break. We still gotta go Christmas shopping! My nana and I are getting a little too excited about making Christmas cookies soon! She showed me today that my mom got her two rolls of sugar cookies and then another roll of chocolate chip. Dear lord.

I think it’s just best if we don’t make anything special like a Christmas DIY project like we did last year. It’s kind of difficult to do those types of things when you can’t get things easily. So our thing for this year will probably be the cookies and that’s all. She’s probably do money IOU’s like she’s done in the past. My mom is planning on taking us both out and about around our town, but we want to wait until Blondie’s out of school/work too. It’s all a big waiting game and usually I’m pretty good about the waiting in general. Today, like Saturday I went over to my nana’s and we looked at old pictures and today, I read some articles from a magazine out loud to she and my papaw. I also got to put on both the 7th and 9th days on her Christmas tree. She got this Advent Calendar through the mail, it’s really cute. It is a plain Christmas tree that you only decorate with the dated different ornaments. She put up today’s early this morning and I put up tomorrow sticker. I really liked doing it too! It’s really fun now knowing the significance about it. My friend Stephanie from The Loudmouth Lifestyle blog said it’s a thing thatĀ helps you remember to do something fun every day and countdown days until Christmas. My friend Ania said she has one that allows her to have one piece of chocolate every day. I think that one is just cruel! My nana and I both know we’d never get through that one!

My nana's Advent Calendar hanging up on her fridge. This picture was taken on Saturday (6th)
My nana’s Advent Calendar hanging up on her fridge. This picture was taken on Saturday (6th)
As my sister was down last night, our cats were brought inside. When I got down on the floor, both Stormy and Grumpy went on my bed.
As my sister was down last night, our cats were brought inside. When I got down on the floor, both Stormy and Grumpy went on my bed.
Things would have been fine if Bear Bear hadn't gone up there too. Thankfully, Midget was nice enough to stay on the floor with me.
Things would have been fine if Bear-Bear hadn’t gone up there too. Thankfully, Midget was nice enough to stay on the floor with me.