The Christmas Cookie Monster Is Back!

10868214_573265832774061_8602666098308278928_n

On Tuesday, my nana and I tried to get two of our traditions off the ground.

I explained that my nana and I have been figuring out what we should do about our cookies. So I guess she couldn’t wait any longer, she messaged me on Twitter that morning and said she had fixed up one batch and we’d do the rest later. My parents had to go to Evansville, for some more Christmas shopping. When they got back my mom took me over and I stayed there for five hours. We didn’t exactly go right into fixing the rest of the cookies. I had to see her new laptop, figure out how to fix her phone but that never got fixed because even I don’t know how to do that and I did it a few months ago for mine. Anyways, after that I let her smell my candles I got over the weekend, and I “tried” to explain my thinking of how to do our gift bags for this year’s Christmas. I made out a list of couples and singles on paper to see who would get what. Surprisingly, everything that was crowding up my brain was unfolding and making me feel all better because I was getting it all on paper and explaining what we should do.

I’ll explain that a little bit later in the week. Complete with detailed instructions I promise. By the time I had finished with that stuff, my mom and sister were coming over to wrap presents. They know some of the details of the goodie bags, not much because I’d still like it to be a surprise to them. In the mist of figuring all this out though, my nana and I worked on probably six batches of cookies, I got to somewhat bake today. I got to arrange the cookies in the way that worked for her, don’t worry she washed my toes! After that, I admired them from a safe distance and watched them bake in the oven. My grandparents are so lucky to have that little window and light to see through and watch anything rise up as it cooks/bakes. I felt like a damn kid the whole day! Everytime the buzzer would go off, we’d switch baking sheets and put the new batch of freshly baked cookies into another pan to store for a bit so they could rest. We both realized today that I watch too many Food Network shows.

 My mom thought that since it had rained the night before and throughout the time they were gone, that we should take the push wheelchair along instead, so I don’t track mud through the house. I understand the point of that, but considering how I’ve been able to move around without sliding out of the seat and being in the way of my papaw while he’s in his chair, plus the fact I could’ve actually used an actual table than a chair as my work station. I thought it was a bit stupid. I ended up getting through about it and with less pain than I thought I would come home with, so that’s okay. Everything seemed to want to work with me and thankfully my patience was intact. I think I have finally figured out how to do frosting on cookies. I’ve always had a hard time getting the frosting from tub to cookie. I asked my nana if I could have another spoon, I wanted to try another trick I learned from Giada, Ina, and Ree. She found an offset spatula, it was a small one too. So I used my right foot to take the excess off the spoon. I wish we had gotten a picture of it while my mom and sister were there. They saw me do it, so that’s good enough for me.

When we got home. The first thing my dad asked was where were the cookies. I think we made the mistake of making the cookies so early in the week before as now I’m worried that since they’ll be part of the bags that they’ll be stale. My nana mentioned she was making the last batch the day after, which I was hoping she’d wait until early this week in case those batches did taste a bit stale. Oh, and I changed my username on my Twitter for the holidays. Majority of my Twitter/blogger followers have added a Christmas theme to their names. Some have actually worked well for their names, but I knew nothing would work with my name. Until one suggested “Sugarplum.” So you can all call me “Meghan Sugarplum” for the time being. Okay, time for the pictures of the cookies! This is the part you all came for I’m sure!

This was something that took us three tries to get. At the last minute I had my nana take it for me because I was to far away to get a good picture of the cookies inside.
This was something that took us three tries to get. At the last minute I had my nana take it for me because I was to far away to get a good picture of the cookies inside.
The cookies just coming out of the oven.
The cookies just coming out of the oven.
This was taken just because the last batch of cookies we made.
This was taken just because the last batch of cookies we made. Nana got confused on one of the packages, because my mom got her a package of chocolate chip cookies. So when my nana went to cut into the wrapping, she didn’t know what it was until the last minute. She managed to stop herself twice in the middle of this. We ended up getting two or three chocolate chip cookies. I ate one of these by the way!
We used store bought icing, it was REALLY soft. Got it all over my toes! We used food coloring to decorate the cookies. A few pastels colors, totally not Christmas-y, but it's okay! We had about seven of these small plastic bowls of different colors, we had two different shades of green. Also, a peach and brightly yellow colors too!
We used store-bought icing, it was REALLY soft. Got it all over my toes! We used food coloring to decorate the cookies. A few pastels colors, totally not Christmas-y, but it’s okay! We had about seven of these small plastic bowls of different colors, we had two different shades of green. Also, a peach and brightly yellow colors too!