Music Video Review: “Suckerpunch” by Delain

Dutch symphonic metal band Delain has released a new music video to go with their first single off their EP called Lunar Prelude. The single is called “Suckerpunch” and I have to say, I’ve been listening to the band since late 2012 and I always look forward to the new things from the band, but I think it was all routine! Because I am seriously stoked for the EP and the album to be released later this year!

When I heard “Suckerpunch” for the first time I realized it had a different sound than to their other songs on previous albums. I think of Delain as a good band, but could get better with evolution meaning their music could grow, become more like Nightwish and Epica. They seem to have a more mature sound with this song than maybe “We Are The Others” and “April Rain” where they had more of a mellow symphonic rock sound. I have to say, I love both of those songs but I was really impressed with this song! I still feel like the keys have that alternative edge, but the overall sound is more powerful especially with the roaring of background vocalists and orchestra. The band really outdid themselves with this song!

If you’ve been living underneath a rock but are still able to listen to Delain’s music, you might not know that the lineup has changed some in the last year. Don’t worry, it’s still Charlotte, Martjin, Otto, and Timo. The group has added both Ruben Israel on drums and Merel Bechtold on guitar. I knew about Merel becoming a new member of the group but not Ruben, so when I watched the music video, I was like, “oh, there’s a new drummer!” Anyways, the music video was sort of dull I guess you would say, but then again it’s not boring! I didn’t necessarily understand the concept of it. The one thing I actually liked was the shots of all the members of the group performing the song as they would live in front of a huge crowd. The flames shooting up in the air is a good heavy metal element. Kind of like the extreme handbanging throughout the whole thing! You need it or it’s technically not a metal song or video. Or that’s what some people might think or say about it!

Delain’s new EP releases February 19th!

Are you a Delain fan? What do you think of their single “Suckerpunch” and its music video?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.