Top 10 Favorite Songs By Linkin Park

Mel and Michele are the hosts of Ketchup With Us. There are two ways of doing a post. You could do it in the way I’ve been doing it. A 10 minute post of whatever is in your head at the moment. Or you could link up any post you want, brand new or old post on your blog. For the month of June, they’ve got a new prompt added to the mix and it is all about lists! Everybody loves a good list! So once you’re done with whatever you’ve chosen to do, just send it to their blogs!


th_a410bb31

 

In honor of the release of Linkin Park’s newest album “The Hunting Party” today. I thought I’d make a list of my favorite songs by them because I just let them have one week to talk about them, I must have a second week. Since I’ve already published this week’s Tune Tuesday post as well, I’ve had to make this a separate post which is perfectly fine with me.  

  1. Papercut – I literally use to listen to this song just because of the introduction. The “creepy” sounds of it just made me so happy when I was just getting into them. When I go to watch the music video for it though, I instantly return back to my junior year of high school, being in my Short Stories class reading about the story called The Yellow Wall Paper. Just remembering it and watching the video at the same time, it was like they were using it as a reference. I can never forget that story because of that music video.
  2. Numb – I have always liked “Numb” and “In The End.” It’s those first songs of both albums that you remember hearing from your friends and they’ve just became your favorites because you can relate to them in more ways than one. When I was a senior in high school, I actually wanted to do a slow, piano version of the song as my senior solo in my choir class, but unfortunately my teacher told me that he didn’t like when girls sang guys songs. I was sad but I understood.
  3. No More Sorrow – I love this song, it’s another good introduction song too. Just how the guitars sound at the very beginning, it’s got that very big rock sound that we didn’t really hear from them yet at that time. I love Chester’s screams and it’s a good song to handbang.
  4. Victimized –  It’s a short freaking song, but it’s a pretty powerful one though! If you’ve been a big LP fan for a long time and you like the two albums MTM then you REALLY missed Mike’s raps. That’s why everybody was pissed that it wasn’t longer, my problem about it was I really liked the sound in general. The drums and guitars just sounded so damn intense that I wanted to be longer than two minutes. You always like the shortest songs the most and wish they never end though.
  5. Points Of Authority/99 Problems/One Step Closer – I have to add one of the LP/Jay-Z mash ups from 2004. When we got that album, we only got it for my dad because he was obsessed with “Numb/Encore” and you can’t blame me because sadly I wasn’t into them fully yet. When I discovered them back in 2009 though, I became obsessed with this track and so did my mother. She was mainly addicted to Mike’s raps. I’m pretty proud of how much LP lyrics she knows.
  6. Valentine’s Day – I love this song. It is one of those depressing songs that you just can’t help but listen to on Valentine’s Day and everybody that is a hardcore fan of LP knows YOU have to play it even if you’re having a good day. If you don’t, well then you’re not a fan. I’m just kidding!
  7. Waiting For The End – This is another song that my mom and I were addicted to when it first came out. I am still addicted to it honestly. I still use it as my ringtone. I just love the sound of the guitars and of course Chester slow words. The fact that all of the members contributed vocals on that song, makes things that much better too!
  8. New Divide – Yes, I was VERY sad to find out that LP was not going to be featured on the new Transformers movie but I do like Imagine Dragons take on it though. When ND came out, we hadn’t heard from them in a while and everybody was SO excited to hear new music from them.
  9. Not Alone – For some odd reason, when I changed over to my new iPod majority of my favorite LP songs didn’t quite make it. This one included and this song has a powerful meaning since it was released after the wake of the Haiti tragedy. I love Chester’s soft lyrics as well as the nice melody of the drums too. So sweet and nice.
  10. Across The Line – This song does not exist on any of the CDs but I think it was on one of the LPU special released demos. I love the lyrics of different topics from drugs and military. It’s very edgy and the guitars in the middle is just amazing awesome!

Tune Tuesday: Canada!

tunetuesday

It’s week four and we are going to Canada! Remember how I said last week that Aussies have a growing music scene? Yeah, Canada’s got an even bigger one! The acts just never end but technically that’s a good thing. When you go to figure out two to three acts to recognize for this sort of thing. I’m kind of regretting not doing two weeks for this! I only picked the two that I actually don’t listen to enough. Growing up, my mom was nice enough to have the TV in the living on MTV and VH1 for me because I loved watching music videos before school! One of the singers that I liked was Nelly Furtado. She has this very unique voice that I wasn’t used to hearing at the time and my mom was REALLY addicted to her songs “I’m Like A Bird” and “Turn Off The Light.” She liked to sing out loud to those songs and it wasn’t pretty, especially trying to sing with two girls that just got up and don’t want to go to school. You can imagine right? When her album “Loose” came out in 2006, I was pretty addicted to it. Every single that came out became one of my favorite songs. I’m just said to say I didn’t have that kind of luck when her new album came out last year.

 Another one that has a very unlikely way of showing up on me. When I was little, I wasn’t into my parents music at all but when we went to see the movie Spirit: Staillon of The Cimarron in 2002 with our church group, I was basically hooked to both the movie and the soundtrack! Not even kidding! I still have the soundtrack and listen to it constantly. It’s so good! Bryan Adams wasn’t somebody that I ever thought I’d listen to, but then again I like the Tarzan soundtrack because of Phil Collins so explain that one! Surprisingly, I can actually listen to a few of his other songs. I had a hard time getting through my thick head that he’s the one that came up with the song “Heaven” and not some music dance group that you first heard it from. Yeah that was a fun car ride home. My mom and I yelling at each other telling each other we’re wrong. I was wrong I will admit! Do you listen to either one of these acts or any other people from Canada? I love finding new music so just send them my way! What are you listening to right now by the way?

You Can’t Take Me by Bryan Adams

Summer Of ’69 by Bryan Adams

All Good Things (Come To An End) by Nelly Furtado

Say It Right by Nelly Furtado