Tune Tuesday: Canada!

tunetuesday

It’s week four and we are going to Canada! Remember how I said last week that Aussies have a growing music scene? Yeah, Canada’s got an even bigger one! The acts just never end but technically that’s a good thing. When you go to figure out two to three acts to recognize for this sort of thing. I’m kind of regretting not doing two weeks for this! I only picked the two that I actually don’t listen to enough. Growing up, my mom was nice enough to have the TV in the living on MTV and VH1 for me because I loved watching music videos before school! One of the singers that I liked was Nelly Furtado. She has this very unique voice that I wasn’t used to hearing at the time and my mom was REALLY addicted to her songs “I’m Like A Bird” and “Turn Off The Light.” She liked to sing out loud to those songs and it wasn’t pretty, especially trying to sing with two girls that just got up and don’t want to go to school. You can imagine right? When her album “Loose” came out in 2006, I was pretty addicted to it. Every single that came out became one of my favorite songs. I’m just said to say I didn’t have that kind of luck when her new album came out last year.

 Another one that has a very unlikely way of showing up on me. When I was little, I wasn’t into my parents music at all but when we went to see the movie Spirit: Staillon of The Cimarron in 2002 with our church group, I was basically hooked to both the movie and the soundtrack! Not even kidding! I still have the soundtrack and listen to it constantly. It’s so good! Bryan Adams wasn’t somebody that I ever thought I’d listen to, but then again I like the Tarzan soundtrack because of Phil Collins so explain that one! Surprisingly, I can actually listen to a few of his other songs. I had a hard time getting through my thick head that he’s the one that came up with the song “Heaven” and not some music dance group that you first heard it from. Yeah that was a fun car ride home. My mom and I yelling at each other telling each other we’re wrong. I was wrong I will admit! Do you listen to either one of these acts or any other people from Canada? I love finding new music so just send them my way! What are you listening to right now by the way?

You Can’t Take Me by Bryan Adams

Summer Of ’69 by Bryan Adams

All Good Things (Come To An End) by Nelly Furtado

Say It Right by Nelly Furtado

Leave a Reply

