#FWF — Old Prompt

I found an old prompt from Free Write Friday, which is hosted by the lovely Kellie Elmore. The prompt is to finish the story. Here is the first part.

“He pointed me toward the opening in the tree. “I’m sure you’ll be pleased. It’s surprisingly large once you’re inside.”

I didn’t want to trust him, but it was like something took over me. Did he put a spell on me? Well, first off how could a rabbit put a spell on somebody? Unless he’s like that professor on Harry Potter that can change into a cat. Must be a very skilled trick to master. It had just rain, because the ground was still wet. I was glad I opt out of wearing my light pink dress this morning, my father would have killed me for what I’d done to it. Now my old blue dress is being torn at the seams and turning into a dark brown, matching the bark of the tree I was crawling into. I had remember a scene like this from the movie Alice In Wonderland, but I wasn’t Alice at all. I knew who I was and knew this was wrong, but yet here I was looking up inside a dark tree. Once I had my feet inside the tree, the rabbit hoped in too and shut the door. Now it was pitch black and I became a little bit claustrophobic. The rabbit must’ve felt my anxiety levels go up, because then he decided to ask me “are you ready?” I tried to find him, but he wasn’t there so I said, “ready for what?” Then there was a soft breathing behind me, and the thing I knew I heard, “this” and then things went downhill from there–literally!

The ground started going down very fast and I couldn’t control my screams, we were falling at a fast pace. There were lights around us, at different floors, I got a better look at the place where the rabbit was, controlling the lever. “Okay, you can stay screaming now!” As he slowed down the speed of the elevator and when I noticed the lights passing us by, I looked at him and grabbed him by the neck and said, “what the hell was that?!” He looked puzzled at me and pointed at the ground, stating he wanted me to put him down, but I wanted my answer first! However, I wasn’t getting anywhere since I was basically choking the little fur ball. So I put him down and he went back to his place and looked at the walls and pulled the lever back and the whole thing came to a shrieking halt. I fall back against the wall and when I raised my head up, he looked at me and said, “we’re here.” I got that Jackass. The side I was propping myself against had split in two as they opened into a fairly large room with thousands of lights flickering everywhere. Going from a slight dimed room to a room with very good light, my eyes were having a hard time focusing in on everything. The little rabbit passed me and I sat up slowly, but as I moved my feet over the doors quickly closed and I swear I heard the tree laugh at me.

The rabbit was moving fast for his size. Here I was trailing behind him, trying to wipe off the crud off my dress and arms. I’m glad I had my hair up in a ponytail before he talked me into that little scheme. “This is Harlequin” As I continued to walk around, it was like I was a village made up of carnival people. Gypsies, clowns, the bearded lady and her children (who had little beards themselves) and all sorts of animals everywhere, but they weren’t in cages or on chains. They were loose and talking like the damn rabbit. I was confused, but I understood what Dorothy Gale felt like in Wizard Of Oz when she met the munchkins, the Scarecrow, Tinman, and Lion. It was overwhelming! “Why did you bring me here?” I looked at a mirror and it wasn’t out of glass, it was made out of the raindrops draining from the ground above. My homeland. When I looked back at the rabbit, he wasn’t there, but in his place was a man, fit in the same clothes as the rabbit wore and came closer to me “don’t be frightened.” I was speechless, he was like that professor in Harry Potter, Professor McGonagall could take him anyway though. “I’m not frightened.” He smiled slightly, as he walked towards me and he took his hand out to reach mine. “Let me show Harlequin, I think you will learn to love it.” I took his hand and again here I was in a trance and could not escape.