Favorite Halloween Candy!

10177942_634270400015880_1458517185019355307_n

Howdy!

This post was inspired by a fellow blogger friend of mine, Missamrunaway and her blog post ideas for autumn! We are getting ever so closer to one of my favorite holidays: HALLOWEEN! I’ll be honest I loved Halloween as a kid and I love it as an adult, but hated it as a teenager and that was probably because when you’re a teenager you think you’re too old to dress up and go around your neighborhood asking for candy. When I was 21 though, I snapped right out of that and somehow convinced my mom to let us go around our grandparent’s neighborhood as it’s kind of out in the open. I think my mom kind of got a kick of the fact that her daughters wanted to dress up and go trick or treating again. I was a punky ballerina and Blondie was a witch. We walked around with our cousin Kristi too and we all managed to come home with a fairly good amount of candy for all four of us!

I don’t remember going out a lot, because our Halloweens have always been really cold! One year, we lived out along the road with barely any neighbors and it was also pouring down rain that night too, so our mom came up with this idea. She knew how bad we wanted to have candy, so she decided to take an idea from our Easter traditions like hiding the eggs for us to find, but instead of finding painted eggs we had to find the candy that was hidden in our living room. Surprisingly I enjoyed this a lot better because I was always so shy to go up to somebody’s door and say trick or treat. This only lasted for one year but I thought it was pretty clever for my mom to come up with it.

I’m getting a little off subject.. I happen to like a LOT of different candies. I’m a little bit like my dad in a way because I love a lot more fruity/sour candies like he does, but my true love is basically chocolate! I’m going to list everything from favorite to least favorite.

Nestle’s Crunch Bar
I’ve always loved a good crunch bar. From a young kid, we’d get those lunchables from the store and I always the fact that inside the pizza ones there wa a bite size crunch bar. It was hard as a rock, but it was delicious!

Dum Dum Pops
I love suckers! Especially these types of suckers. When my sister and I were kids and would sit in the backseat while our mom and nana would go to the bank, they’d give us each a sucker! We lived for these days I swear! My favorite flavors are: cherry, watermelon, orange, Club Soda, raspberry, and sour apple!

Creme Savers 

I came across these a long time ago!! I’ve never been a big fan of the flavor strawberry and cream together. However, either they had a commercial with these babies and I decided to go for it, but I think I think somebody else must’ve shared one with me and ever since I was a little obsessed! I’ve tried to get my mom to find them on CVS a few times over the years but I don’t think anybody sells them anymore.

Trolli Sour Gummi Worms
I love both kinds of gummi worms, but I think the sour ones are my ultimate favorite! I remember getting them as part of my birthday present from one of my favorite evening nurses at Shriner’s and I’ve never been able to get them for my birthday, at least I don’t think so!

Smarties
These are another childhood favorite that I don’t think I’ll ever grow out of, they’re soft and suble. They’re weren’t sour or too sweet, just perfect the way they are.

Hershey’s Kisses:
This is another childhood favorite of mine, but I’d rather have the dark chocolate than the milk chocolate. Blame it on my papaw! It’s his fault, he’s the one that converted me. If I remember correctly he’s also the one that introduced us to the Kisses too! I could be wrong though!

Jolly Ranchers
My dad and I are a big of both life savers and jolly ranchers. I think it’s because they’re a little bit more sour and since their rectangle shaped they kind of last a little bit longer too!

Kit Kat
I am such a fan of Kit Kat’s. I the soft crunch of it the most. I don’t really remember how my love for it started but it might have something to do with as kids my mom would steal all of the Reece’s out of our bags before we even got a chance to eat one and Kit Kat’s were the next best thing?

Starburst
This is another favorite between my dad and I. This is also my go-to while we’re at the theaters! My favorite flavors are cherry, raspberry and lemon!

Reece’s Peanut Butter Cups
I do love Reece’s. I can’t have a bunch of them because there’s chance my mother will steal the bag! I love the whole thing of peanut butter and chocolate together, it’s amazing!

Twix
I love Twix, this was another alternative of a Snickers because I can no longer have those. I actually love the cookie underneath chocolate and caramel. I recently tried the peanut butter one and I have to say, the production company ruined the candy bar! It’s disgusting!

York
I’ll be honest, I haven’t had one of these in a long time but they’re still good. This is another favorite flavor combination of mine: chocolate and mint. This one was started my grandparents on my dad’s side.

M&M’s
I like M&M’s, but mostly the mini’s and I recently tried the crispy kind. It’s like they have a mini version of a rice krispy treat inside of them! I think those were better than any other kind! Except maybe the mint ones!

Ferrero Rocher
These are dangerous little beasts! I had these for the first time either last winter or the year before. One of the women my mom works with offered a three pack to us and I decided to take them. She fed me the first two and OMG! It was so amazing! I really like hazelnuts and chocolate together. I really need to get a package of them soon!

Butterfinger Bites
Do they still make these? I remember the late 90’s I was obsessed with these! And then they messed with the recipe and I’ve had a hard time finding that love for them again.

What is your favorite candy as a kid and/or adult?