Music | Best Of 2015

Untitled

Hey guys!

It’s Tuesday, which is normally one of my music days of the week! 2015 was full of a lot of music for me. I always feel like I consume a lot of music but I definitely feel it all more starting like the 26th of December. I start to really think about the songs and artists I’ve listened to in the year. After getting out of the rock scene and transitioning into my mini pop phase I tend to go into after every five years is up. I’m not kidding, it happens everytime I get out of a genre. I was hooked to One Direction for seven months before the end of January came and then I found my next phase: EDM.

In my previous music related posts, I’ve explained that I’ve always been into dance music. I liked trance growing up and then dubstep after Blondie suggested I listened to Skrillex in 2011. Now I’ve been really committed to learning more genres in the electric dance world like moombahton and trap music, but it seems like I’ll be going at this a slow pace as those are the only two that I’ve really enjoyed lately. I still don’t like a lot of house music, it’s too boring for me! I started off my year listening to Dillon Francis, Alesso, Krewella, Yellow Claw, Jack Ü (which gave way to Diplo), Major Lazer, and Flosstradamus. In all honestly, there was more but this is all I could think of at the moment.

What’s really funny is that I thought I’d only listen to EDM for only a short time, maybe a few months as I was only listening to find a song that was basically fading from my memory. That came back to bite me in the butt, as I couldn’t tear myself away from anything Diplo – I didn’t know he produced Madonna’s album when I first heard it. It was already on my radar before that started so lay off me! When I first heard “Living For Love” I was actually listening to Prince’s single “This Could B Us” and because I am my mother’s daughter I ended up liking both of them at the same time.  I didn’t think I’d ever fall in love with a Madonna album as much as I have with “Rebel Heart” and I’m still trying to convert my mom but she has decided to take this time to listen to more rock music as I’m not as interested with it right now.

Whenever I get into a different music scene, I tend to want to everything and almost anything in that scene. I mean, the skull obsession I have is definitely from listening to too much heavy metal on full blast! However, I’m not into the crazy lifestyle of ravers. I’d rather go rock concerts any day and I find this shocking because I love a lot of bass but I don’t ever want to go to an EDM festival. The ones I’ve managed to find on YouTube is good enough for me! My neck and hips have been hurting me like they would if I sat in my chair with a bunch of crazies, at least this way I don’t have to worry about running over anybody’s feet in the process!

I tried to count all of the albums and EPs that I’ve listened to this year and I think it was like 32 altogether! After I got down counting them I thought to myself and went “no wonder my brain feels like it’s about to explode!” I listened to more EPs than I had thought I would. When they switched days of new releases to Friday, I’ve had to be a little bit more patient as I really liked it better when everything came out on a Tuesday. It was the day after Monday (we all hate Mondays!) and it just made me happy to be able to have new music to hear all week long. Now that it switched to Friday, I saw the positive in the fact that Friday’s are considered “paydays” but I don’t like the wait clearly.

My favorite EPs were:

“Holy Water” by Laurel
“Mine” by Phoebe Ryan
“Francesco Yates” by Francesco Yates
“This Mixtape Is Fire” by Dillon Francis
“Up In Flames” by Ruelle.

As far as favorite albums go:

“Run” by Alison Wonderland
“Skrillex and Diplo Presents Jack Ü” by Jack Ü
“Into The Sun” by Bassnectar
“Peace Is The Mission” by Major Lazer
“Take It Like A Man” by Butcher Babies
“Revival” by Selena Gomez
“Club Life Vol. 4” by Tiesto
“Chapter One” by Ella Henderson
“General Admission” by Machine Gun Kelly
“Get Weird” by Little Mix
“Malviolence” by New Years Day
“Stereotypes” by Black Violin

I did a lot of different reviews this year that I’ve been very proud of lately! If you would like to read any of those, they have their own page on here! Just click “Reviews” under the “Music” tab at top! I’m hoping to continue to do more of those in 2016 and I’m slowly getting arrangements to do my annual summer travels for helping you to discover new music that you may not have heard before. I have a two pages of my daily planner of countries and artists/bands to focus on! I’m actually excited about it! Of course, those will start up in May 2016!

What did you listen to in 2015? What genre were you just stuck on? What album was your favorite?