Tis’ Not A Naked Tree!

s1830duk5u3hdmlpwnookvx6amgpd2p8

Hey guys!

Last week, I posted about how my nana and I got her Christmas tree up finally! It wasn’t really a challenge (for me) but it did make me realize how much stuff my parents never let me do whenever we put up our tree. Well today, I have the second day of decorating the tree and I’m happy to say I did a lot more than I thought I would, between taking pictures of basically everything in sight, I helped put on tinsel and bulbs. It was pretty interesting to say the least!

Before I got there, my mom had to buy new lights for the tree since the others nana tried didn’t work all the way. She got three boxes of 100 mini lights. I think we had more than enough lights, what do you think? I think lights are my favorite thing about decorating the tree. It’s strange how both the “red” and “yellow” are actually really “pink” and “gold” once they’re lit up. The blue has always been my favorite! We were a little worried on how we were going to put the lights on as we really couldn’t move the tree out of the space in the living room and mess up her rug and nativity scene completely. So I thought of the idea of just throwing them up and into different directions, like we had planned on doing with the tinsel. We realized we had a big batch on top that was empty! Oops! My mom had to go and fix that later!

My nana had told me that while she was attempting to put on the lights to take pictures. When she was just about to put them on the bottom half of the tree, I snapped one and the flash went off and scared the crap out of both of my grandparents! My papaw didn’t really help, but then again between the two wheelchairs we were already blocking a big section of the entrance to the room, he really couldn’t help. He did managed to play “O Christmas Tree” on the piano which boosted my mood up a little now we were getting into the Christmas spirit. After the lights were done, then came my second favorite part: the ornaments! I think last year I had done a blog post about what WE put on our tree, my sister and I’s old kiddy decorations we had made in school and whatnot. So I got to do a similar post with hers!

The difference with her tree is that there’s no ornaments that us grandchildren have made specifically for them. I mean, there’s like two different ornaments from my mom (preschool and high school!) and a random picture of my sister from grade school! The rest of the ornaments are very old (which I like!) and some were made by my great-grandmother I think. She’s got these very decorative bulbs that remind me of India on how much detail and color they all seem to have, they’ve always been my favorites of course! And then you have these slightly clear ones. Very Christmas-y, full of baby Jesus and the Hollies. The first two we pulled out of the bag were these very delicate ornaments. The one of a train was very sturdy but the other was some kind of carriage. and it felt like it was made of paper so I had to be extra careful with it!

The second picture is obviously my papaw’s. It is a silver elf and it has a long chain on it. We put it down at the bottom so it could dangle. It was from where my papaw used to work and the date of that year, 1988! Yikes My nana also has her own special ornaments. She has her Adam Lambert picture locket type of ornament and then she has an Elvis Presley bulb that took me about seven tries and three different props to get a decent picture! And to the finish it all of, she had one little modernized ornament. She has the same Garfield in a football helmet like we do as the second to last recent ornament added to the tree! We honest to God had a lot of bulbs to put on. She had to put mostly the ones with hooks on the tree as I got the same job I get at home with putting the ones withe sting on it.

After successfully finishing that part of the decorations. My mom put the angel on top of the tree! She left to go do errands and we continued on, this time putting on the tinsel. We did the same thing we did with the lights but had better throws, each tinsel was in like little strands so throwing it up on the tree wasn’t that bad, until it fell off and landed back on the floor… During this time I kept getting stuck in my wheelchair. I could lean my body to pull my legs up in the air but straightening myself out on my own wasn’t working out very well. My nana had to hold down my foot like five times during the whole thing just so I could fix myself! At least nobody landed on the floor!

102

This was probably the most fun and excercise I usually get in one week alone! Just trying to move yourself into the living room that is pretty difficult as to the rest of the house. My nana and papaw go into it like twice a day and the carpet is STILL not used to wheelchairs rolling around on it. 😛 When we were finally complete with the tree I had to take pictures of our finished work, but still managed to crop out the angel on top! I tried to back up enough like three times, I should have known to go for the fourth time. Oh well, it’s pretty the way it is!

What do you think?