Album Review: “Get Weird” by Little Mix

12193505_709120279189680_7315014755169342993_n.jpgThis has been a long time coming considering this album came out in early November. I know I suck! I really did want to do the review then but that whole month was not the best for me…

I’m a new Little Mix fan. You can blame it on LucyAndLydia from YouTube. They’re the ones that got me started on them. I’m definitely team Jade and Perrie! I think all four girls are gorgeous and have beautiful voices! I’ve been meaning to listen to their previous albums and over the summer I finally had the time to do it. I haven’t finished listening to all of their first album DNA but I did complete Salute. After listening to their recent release I have to say out of the three, this is best album yet! This album sounds more adult against the first two, they were more pop oriented and slightly kind of boring for me. This album has some depth and it’s just different in a good way!

All right, so let’s start off with their first single that came out in late September, just in time to be put into the rest of the classic Halloween related tracks. “Black Magic” is still being played EVERYWHERE! In last Wednesday alone, it popped up on my TV about four times in one hour! This track is definitely pop worthy, I didn’t realize how “dirty” it was until after a month or so. Those titles seem so innocent until you hear the song about 100 times in two months before you find out how naughty it really is! However, it’s still a great song! I am slightly over it though. The second song is called “Love Me Like You” and this one used to drive me nuts! I keep wanting to put the word “do” at the end because of Ellie Goulding! Anyways, this one sort of reminds me of Grease when they say “sha-la-la” in the beginning. The whole song is very slow, pop-y, but has this old bluesy/jazz soul to it. I’m hoping more pop stations play it so they stop playing the other one all the time, that sounds so mean, but give the other singles a chance people!

The next one is called, “Weird People” and I feel like this one is like MY song since I am a very weird person! This is another track that has an old feeling to it, almost 80’s pop vibe! I like it! I love how in every song on this album sounds so different! The fourth song is “Secret Love Song” and I really love this introduction. It’s so slow, almost a capella like. I’m still learning everybody’s voice in the group but I really like how you can’t tell who’s who, they sound like one person which is what you’re hoping that happens in a group. This song features Jason Derulo and at first, I didn’t like it but now I do. It’s a nice balance in voices! There’s a second version of this track, which is basically the same song without Derulo. I actually like it better even though there’s nothing really different with it! Next one is another upbeat track called “Hair” and this one has a total different sound to it. It’s very poppy, but has some hip hop accents. I feel like this is a very honest breakup styled song! I wish you could hear the word that is bleeped out in the choruses!

This one was my favorite tracks when I first listened to it mid-November! It’s called “Grown” everything about this song is on point! I love the sassy lyrics so much! This beat alone is just awesome! The hums make the ending of the choruses that much better! All that bass just makes me so happy! The next one is “I Love You” it’s slower, but not one of my favorites. It kind of sucks sometimes when you go from two great, upbeat song then to a ballad. It’s a total buzzkill for me! The song’s not bad though! The one right after it is luckily back on the upbeat side. It’s “OMG” and I swear I’ve heard it somewhere recently, but I hope I’m not getting it confused when I listened to it the other day! How embarrassing would that be?! This is another song that has a 80’s pop sound to it, but it’s not bad. It’s actually pretty catchy during the choruses. I’ve recently found another favorite on the album, it’s called “Lightning” and it is so different! It’s very slow, ballad-like and then when the chorus starts it kind of climbs higher in tempo and then there’s the weird bass drop, with a child like voice saying “but I do” in the breaks. Whenever the verses resumes though, the tone is back to mellow and it’s a really nice balance especially with the changes. Also, I love the use of singers singing in Latin in the bridge. Like, that’s never in a pop song! It gave this song an added fierce presence to it.

The next batch of songs start with “A.D.I.D.A.S” and of course, I thought of the shoes! They’re definitely not talking about shoes though. This has a nice bass, bluesy beginning to it and I like that. I like the clear sound of the piano and beat together. It’s kind of mellow in sound and somehow talking about sex in this beat is pretty good! The eleventh track is called “Love Me Or Leave Me” and boy, do I love this one! It’s so gorgeous with just the vocals, piano, and violin. It’s the perfect ballad. Another favorite! The one after that is called “The End” and it has a Pentonix feel to it, because there’s no beat, just the “bum-bums” and snapping. The group is harmonizing throughout the whole song. This is so good, it’s another favorite track.

I know the album was released as a deluxe edition, but I’ve decided to end this review here. I hope you all understand. There are four bonus tracks. I have to say I was really impressed with this album. I was not expecting to like it so much! Maybe next week it’ll be featured on my favorite album of 2015? Wouldn’t that be nice?

Have you listened to “Get Weird” yet? If you have, which songs do you like the most?