EP Review: “Vintersjäl / Cold Outside” by Anette Olzon

12509169_483103871877555_7706914938034586530_n

I’ve been wondering why I love international music so much! Music overseas is sort of different than it is over here in the states. We’re not as open to different genres. I always look past that, I look for what kind of music they make, how they sound, etc. I’ve even gotten to the point where I’m fine with all the different languages. I may not understand a word they are saying, but since I only look at how the song sounds as a whole, it’s not a barrier as it is with others.

Anette Olzon has been a favorite of mine since 2012, I found the Nightwish album “Imaginearum” very interesting and her voice was beautiful, very angelic! And then she left the band and my first thought, “Oh no!” I started keeping up with her blog and listened to her debut album “Shine” as soon as it hit Spotify. I always look forward to the things she does, whether it’s music or not. She’s super friendly to her fans.

When she announced that she was releasing an EP of two versions of the same song, I was so unbelievably excited! The EP is called “Vintersjäl / Cold Outside” and it was released digitally, so it’s only on iTunes, Spotify, Tidal, and Amazon.

When it finally popped up on my Spotify, I was so happy! I immediately listened to the English version first, but after a couple of days I finally got a chance to hear the Swedish version and I’m not going to lie, I liked “Vintersjäl” better! Here’s the reason why: normally if a song has two versions of the same song, the beat isn’t that much different, but for this song it is! I found “Vintersjäl” to be a little more symphonic rock sounding. I remember a post she had wrote last year on her blog about writing a song in her native language, but she was afraid it sounded too corny than writing one in English. Ever since I read that I’ve always been curious of what she meant, because again I don’t know Swedish but I still loved it!

The English version is called “Cold Outside” and I found Anette’s voice so beautiful in this song, the lyrics and meaning of it are so good! The beat is like I said, different from the first. This one is like a mixture of pop-rock; it’s got some keyboards notes, that makes it more poppy but it has some good rock moments in too! I don’t want to say it has some electronica elements to it, because I’d feel too many would be scared by that. It does have an interesting vibe behind it.

Have you heard of Anette’s new EP yet? What are your thoughts about it?

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

Music Haul | Rock & EDM

12498510_10204044491472558_639801178_n

Hey guys!

Earlier this month, I had a dentist appointment. It was only a cleaning and I have to say, things went better than expected, like seriously! I was still pretty nervous about the whole thing, but since I knew what to expect (meaning the shots) I was actually a lot calmer. I didn’t react like I had when it was over, I even left my dad in the room! So far, nobody has told me that they like the shots! Even the woman who cleaned my own teeth said she didn’t like them either!

This time everything was fast paced, for one thing the medicine they had given me like the last time, worked a little better! I was way more relaxed than before, but I had also spent three hours awake I was already feeling sleepy on my own. This is was just making things that much better! Anyways, like I said things went by faster. We didn’t have to deal with the X-Rays and checking out each tooth on both sides. She still did that, but it wasn’t as intensive as before. I still had my iPod and headphones on, even though I could barely hear it. I did get through like five Evanescence songs, so I was good! I figured if I listened to any of my symphonic metal bands then they would basically relax me. In the last two times, I’ve almost fallen asleep on her because I wasn’t feeling anything and my medicine kicked in!

When my sister and I were kids, everytime we had doctor’s appointment, more importantly about our eyes or teeth. If we did very well then we were rewarded. Bribing 101 folks! Well apparently, this still works! I was already in talks with my dad about him taking me to the Record Cellar there in town afterwards, but we weren’t going to decide anything until they figured out how I could deal with the numbness of my mouth and if I was exhausted or not.

I honestly don’t remember much of the appointment. When it was done I was still in good spirits. I had something to look forward to, I wasn’t going to let my emotions or tiredness stop me! So we left to go to this record cellar and I was very happy, because we were in a part of town that we rarely visit. It’s has the vibe of the old neighborhood before it expanded. There was a building that had old paint faded on the side, it was still readable. The shops were modern, but this was classic. The one bad thing about this place is that it’s not handicap accessible. However, we usually bring the push wheelchair with us and since it’s lightweight (even with my butt in it!) my parents could lift it up the two steps. I wasn’t necessarily prepared going into this place. My dreams didn’t even come close to the inside of this sucker!

When you first walk inside, it was like walking into Hot Topic at the mall every time we go; it felt like home to me. I was expecting to see more vinyls than CDs but in a way, I liked it better that way! My dad was busy most of the time talking to the owner while my poor mom pushed me through every corner of the store. The best way to describe the walls are what I hope I can do with my bedroom one day. Every open area of the place was covered with different posters of both classic rock bands like Nirvana, Motorhead, Motley Crue, I even saw a Purple Rain era poster on the ceiling! Of course you had the modern, popular bands and artists of today like Justin Bieber, Coldplay, Halestorm, and Linkin Park.

I wasn’t even looking at the CDs yet, I was too busy distracted at all these posters and seeing who all I recognized and then we found these wooden boxes full of CDs that I have to say were better categorized than Wal-Mart where they’re all over the place! They had them alphabetical and only in two groups “pop/rock” but they also had different areas for Jazz, Rap/Hip Hop, and the new releases. My mom and I were too busy in the back that I actually missed the new releases section!

The first CD I found was Eyes Set To Kill’s album “Masks” it came out in 2014 and I have to say, this album was so good! It was also $5.55 which was the cheapest one I bought! Second was In This Moment’s “Black Widow” and I think this was a “try again” deal. I did a review for this album when it came out in late 2014 and honestly didn’t love it as much as “Blood” but my cousin and I had talked about it while she was down for Christmas so I decided to buy it. I kind of regret that decision now. Last one was “Going To Hell” by The Pretty Reckless, this one and ESTK’s album I can listen from first to last without skipping. I also bought two other albums, but they had to be ordered. They were “Skrillex and Diplo Presents Jack Ü” by Jack Ü and then “Peace Is The Mission” by Major Lazer.

All in all, I spent $80 of my Christmas money at this place! My parents weren’t too surprised on that price considering they know my history! However, since I didn’t bring up this whole “go to record place after the dentist” until we were actually in the waiting room, so I didn’t bring my purse! Hence why I didn’t get a picture of that building when we were first there! So my dad had to pay for me, but I paid him back and I just gave him the whole $100 and he gave me $10 back. Now they’re saying “start saving up so you can go back.” It’s a good thing I agreed to teach my nana how to do her camera because I’ll be able to go back sooner than later! I’m already getting started on my next batch that I want. I’m thinking some more pop this time around; I will buy Adele’s album and do an album review!

Before we left, the owner gave us a Winter Sampler from RoadRunner Records. It’s got new tracks from Killswitch Engage, The Amity Affliction, and Wild Throne. We listened to it on the way home that day. My dad said he’s a little addicted to it, so if I find it missing in a couple of days I’ll know which parent has it. My mom’s supposed to get her subs and new radio put into her car soon. The new radio that my dad got her for Christmas, it doesn’t allow CDs so at least I won’t have to worry about her stealing my music anytime soon! When we went back to the dentist two days after the girl who cleaned my teeth asked if we went and when my mom said “yes and she spent $80” we all kind of laughed. I had a smirk on my face! I couldn’t help it. Well, I could but that wouldn’t be as fun!

Am I a crazy music fan or what? You can be honest! Is there any music you think I should get as a “curious” buy the next time I go? 

003015017022009004011011017021023024

 

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin