EP Review: “Vintersjäl / Cold Outside” by Anette Olzon

12509169_483103871877555_7706914938034586530_n

I’ve been wondering why I love international music so much! Music overseas is sort of different than it is over here in the states. We’re not as open to different genres. I always look past that, I look for what kind of music they make, how they sound, etc. I’ve even gotten to the point where I’m fine with all the different languages. I may not understand a word they are saying, but since I only look at how the song sounds as a whole, it’s not a barrier as it is with others.

Anette Olzon has been a favorite of mine since 2012, I found the Nightwish album “Imaginearum” very interesting and her voice was beautiful, very angelic! And then she left the band and my first thought, “Oh no!” I started keeping up with her blog and listened to her debut album “Shine” as soon as it hit Spotify. I always look forward to the things she does, whether it’s music or not. She’s super friendly to her fans.

When she announced that she was releasing an EP of two versions of the same song, I was so unbelievably excited! The EP is called “Vintersjäl / Cold Outside” and it was released digitally, so it’s only on iTunes, Spotify, Tidal, and Amazon.

When it finally popped up on my Spotify, I was so happy! I immediately listened to the English version first, but after a couple of days I finally got a chance to hear the Swedish version and I’m not going to lie, I liked “Vintersjäl” better! Here’s the reason why: normally if a song has two versions of the same song, the beat isn’t that much different, but for this song it is! I found “Vintersjäl” to be a little more symphonic rock sounding. I remember a post she had wrote last year on her blog about writing a song in her native language, but she was afraid it sounded too corny than writing one in English. Ever since I read that I’ve always been curious of what she meant, because again I don’t know Swedish but I still loved it!

The English version is called “Cold Outside” and I found Anette’s voice so beautiful in this song, the lyrics and meaning of it are so good! The beat is like I said, different from the first. This one is like a mixture of pop-rock; it’s got some keyboards notes, that makes it more poppy but it has some good rock moments in too! I don’t want to say it has some electronica elements to it, because I’d feel too many would be scared by that. It does have an interesting vibe behind it.

Have you heard of Anette’s new EP yet? What are your thoughts about it?

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

