Tune Tuesday | The Netherlands

ttworldwide15

Throughout the years, my music has grown beyond what I even wanted. That’s not to say it’s a bad thing. I think everybody should try to expand their love of music. There’s always more than what they play on the radio. In every country, I feel like I should have a list of what gets me the most. I’m pretty sure The Netherlands is a good candidate for the third spot. I definitely don’t need anybody to help whenever I go to talk about my favorite artists and bands from there that’s for sure. Since last year, the genre was mainly metal except for Don Diablo in the EDM category. I thought I’d use more in that genre for a change.

I always think Within Temptation started the trend of NL music on the rock/metal side, but Tiesto started it on the EDM side. Except what really gets me is that I don’t have an exact date of when I got into Tiesto’s music. I want to say 2009, but I feel like it was much earlier than that, like towards 2007. It could work honestly, I’ve always been into dance music and he’s one the older DJs and so I could have heard his music earlier in my teenage years and had to hide it. I shouldn’t say that, I didn’t hide my music at least not to my parents they generally don’t care, but since at this point dance music wasn’t at its peak like it is now so “hiding” it back then would have been easy! I hid that I liked Cascada for years so it could happen! Anyways, I love Tiesto’s music. I got interested in his music when I went looking for more trance style back in 2011-12. Ended up finding his albums Kaleidoscope and In Search of Sunrise 4 – Latin America. I have a weakness for tracks over 4-5 minutes long! Don’t judge me!

Tiesto has amazing music, but he’s (thankfully) not the only great Dutch DJ out there. There’s actually quite a bit that I like to listen to, but if I had named them all we’d be here forever! I think Tiesto is great for the older generations, but both Martin Garrix and Hardwell are great for the younger generations of music lovers and ravers. I can’t say who I like the most between these two, they have their own styles. I’ve been interested in Martin’s music I heard “Animals” on the radio. I lost it after I downloaded it because I thought it would sound differently on my stereo and it didn’t, but my love for the song grew back for it after it was part of a dance routine on Dancing With The Stars. I’m surprised my mom didn’t ask ,me what the song was called after that! She usually does! I can’t wait until his debut album comes out. I’ve been looking forward to that since March! I found out about Hardwell’s music through Spotify of course, but I didn’t start like REALLY listening to him until I started listening to the Sirius XM BPM channel and that’s when I really got into his stuff!

The Only Way Is Up – Tiesto & Martin Garrix

Don’t Look Down – Martin Garrix ft. Usher

Sally – Hardwell ft. Harrison

Colors – Hardwell/Tiesto ft. Andreas Moe