Coloring Easter Eggs!

az

So this happened…

My nana’s birthday is this weekend, so majority of my family came down for a visit. Two of them weren’t supposed to come down because they were going to a truck show in another state, but plans changed and came down couple of hours after we ate! My Aunt Laurie, Uncle Mike and cousin Taylor with their dog Mila came down from up north. They usually like to come down on the weekend before my nana’s birthday because that’s when Taylor’s spring break falls on. How did she get so lucky? This weekend was extra special because my aunt really wanted to meet my sister’s boyfriend, you all know him as “Batman.”  So they finally got to meet and embarrassed him and my sister good!

I woke up around eight something and I wasn’t very happy. I had another late night because my mom had to stay later at work this time around and I knew my dad wasn’t going to go to bed early and I just waited up to see her before I fell asleep. By the time she came home it was like 11:30, I remember listening to like five songs on my iPod and watching one episode of The Golden Girls before passing out! I figured she wouldn’t want to get up too early to go over to my nana’s, but everytime I tired to go back to sleep I’d get right back up, by noon I had enough and I got up (physically) and listened to some music and I think within a half hour my mom got up too. Blondie and Batman got up pretty early and they went to Denny’s for breakfast (and I wasn’t happy!) they also went to Wal-Mart afterwards to get supplies to color Easter eggs. On our way over there, my mom tells me this and I got way too excited for my own good! I actually LOVE to color Easter eggs! I honestly hate painting anything, but Easter eggs were always a favorite activity to me!

When we got there, nobody had eaten anything besides their breakfast which was hours before! So they were basically waiting for my mom and I to get there before deciding where to go. We got Noble Romans pizza and bread sticks. Oh my goodness, they were delicious! Even though I had pizza like two days before I was still happy as can be! While Laurie and Mike went to get the pizza, my mom went and did my nana’s errands with Blondie and Batman. So I stayed behind with Taylor and the dog, it’s been a while since I had a nice conversation with my nana because of the weather and her health problems. We caught up on different things and it was really nice! After we got done eating, we actually went outside for a bit. It wasn’t too cold, but there was a chill in the air so you needed a light jacket. If you stood in the sun though, that wasn’t too bad! While everybody was outside, they were taking pictures of each other doing crazy stuff. At one point after David and Katt got at the house, everybody (but me!) were doing cartwheels in the yard in front of God and everybody passing by!

Around five in the afternoon, everybody had noticed that we didn’t have anything to snack on. Nobody had remembered to get a vegetable and fruit tray, so if imagine my mom on the phone calling our local store that arranges these things, in the kitchen which was a bad idea because when the guy asked what we wanted, everybody was yelling out different veggies and fruit. My uncle David was the only one with pizza still on the brain, plus the fact he was sitting right next to her, yells out different pizza toppings. At one point she slapped his arm that we all just lost it and started laughing our asses off! I’m surprised the dude didn’t hang up the phone! While we sat and waited for the hour to go by before mom went to go grab the trays, I asked when we were going to the Easter eggs. It’s just a lot more fun doing things like this there because everybody can take pictures and talk amongst ourselves.

eggs

My poor papaw was in the kitchen watching his basketball game. I mean, it is March Madness here! We did it in the kitchen because it’s got the best lighting in the whole house, but less amount of space! So when we brought out the card table, everybody just kind of scattered into the next room. My Uncle David managed to find a seat on the floor, distracting the dog for us. We brought my push wheelchair with us, because it’s less bulky but I couldn’t reach the table to do anything so my nana has this thing that lifts up your feet. I’ve used it on many of our DIY projects before! I knew it could be my little space, but I didn’t want to get it dirty with the different color dyes, so we used a paper plate and that was the best thing ever! Blondie and Batman got like five different things to decorate the eggs with and one of which came with these small paint rollers, it was the cutest thing I’ve ever seen! We certainly didn’t have these when I was a kid! They also got the normal bowls with color drops, plus a glitter, monster (came with stickers and hair!) and Batman got himself a set of paints so he could attempt to make a Batman egg. It didn’t work out for him very well!

Blondie and Batman got like two 16 cartons of eggs, and of course my mom and aunt Katt had to boil the eggs for them beforehand! I think Batman and I had the most fun! We had a lot of fun using the paintbrushes and rollers…I haven’t used paint or dyes in a long time so that instantly brought out my inner child. When Blondie got out the glitter ones, they only came with two different glitters a light pink and bright sparkly green, then I remembered nana and I still had like seven bottles of glitter that we hadn’t used up from doing our Halloween pumpkins! So we started using those, actually I used the crap out of them! They were small enough bottles that I could grip my toes around them and shake them over the eggs! After tipping the glitter bottles over, it became like 10x more fun for me! Because all of the excess glitter ended up on my paper plate and I started rolling my eggs in that glitter! It was like I was six years old again! By that time, my nana, Aunt Laurie and my mom all jumped in and colored a couple of eggs! They did theirs the old school way! When we finished one carton, us three got tired and were out of creativity that we still had like 10 or so left, so my mom and sister just made the extra ones plain colors! We found out later on that night, when my dad went to eat one that while he was removing the shell that if it had glitter on it, the glitter would stick to your fingers and get on the actual egg too! Oops!

A little bit after that we left for the night. It was just starting to get dark too, that’s one of my favorite parts about spring! It gets dark around eight-ish and you’re constantly thinking you have plenty of time left when you really don’t! We went back to my nana’s Sunday afternoon. I knew that we had a birthday party to go to afterwards in the garage and I’d probably eat a lot over there, so I only ate some broccoli and dip before we came back to the house. They left around three and it was nice and fun like always to be around everybody again. When we got home, we switched wheelchairs and we went over to the garage for the party. Blondie didn’t stay long, she had to go back to the house to take a nap with the dog. I ate pretty good, steak, baked potato, plus the cake and ice cream at the end. I watched a little bit of Nascar, college basketball, and the guys play pool! I even got to visit with little Miss Chevy too! I’d say it was another great weekend for me!

the rollers and paint!
the rollers and paint!
our finished eggs! All of mine are on the left corner!
our finished eggs! All of mine are on the left corner!

The TBR Tag!

Untitled

I found this little tag from one of my blogger friends, Amanda who owns ChocolatePages! A “to be read” next tag for book lovers! I saw it and knew I was going to have to do it too! Sadly though, I haven’t been reading at all lately like maybe I’d like to, but I still saw the fun in this tag so I’m doing it! Hope you enjoy!

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

I use a site called Shelfair. I found it from another friend (who also is named Amanda!) and she showed it to me a week or two after I got my Kindle I think. I’ve had it for a few years and I really love it! It’s got quite a few features to help you keep track of your TBR, what you’ve already read, and etc. I also have two boards on my Pinterest for the books I’ve read and ones I want to read next too.

Is your TBR mostly print or e-book?

I like to use both print and e-books, but I have and get more e-books because they are easier for me to get than getting out.

How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

I go through my TBR list a few times and kind of narrow it down from 4,3, 2, and then one. I haven’t done that in a while, I’ve been spending a lot of my time in the free section for e-books so that kind of makes things easier to select from.

A book that’s been on your TBR list the longest.

In 2011, I was in a deep rock band craze and had been reading both Nikki Sixx books and Duff McKagan’s memoir. I still have Tommy Lee’s memoir “Tommyland” and Storm Large’s “Crazy Enough” they are the oldest books on my to be read next list.

A book you recently added to your TBR?

I am really obsessed with historical fiction, mainly anything from Marie Antoinette, Henry VIII, and Queen Elizabeth I time frame. So the most recently added book is The Wives Of Henry VIII by Antonia Fraser. Because you can never hear enough information about The Tudors.

The six wives of Henry VIII - Catherine of Aragon, Anne Boleyn, Jane Seymour, Anna of Cleves, Katherine Howard and Catherine Parr - have become defined in a popular sense not so much by their lives as by the way these lives ended. But, as Antonia Fraser conclusively proves, they were rich and feisty characters. They may have been victims of Henry's obsession with a male heir, but they were not willing victims. On the contrary, they displayed considerable strength and intelligence at a time ...

A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

This is actually really difficult to decide because I am awful about picking books just for their gorgeous covers! I just can’t have one book for this question sorry! The first is The Selection by Kiera Cross, Fallen by Katie Barber and lastly Rage by Jackie Morse Kessler.

10561754_691564484263803_8406106149757263225_n

A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

Probably the Dracula book I’ve decided to add during a very weird week a few months ago.

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?

I haven’t been checking on books to be released soon in a really long time! So I don’t have one.

A book on your TBR that basically everyone has read but you?

I don’t think I have any books on my TBR list that everybody’s read but me. Which is a surprise!

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

My friend Candice of All That Glitters has recommended quite a few books to me. I think she’s the one who got How To Build A Girl by Caitlin Moran on my TBR list after reading a blog post of what she was loving, but it was several months ago, I could have the wrong book!

Fall Must-Read Books - How to Build a Girl by Caitlin Moran

A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?

Ooh! Well once I get through this last book in my Kindle I’d like to read Never Have I Ever by Katie Heaney and My Soon-To-Be Sex Life by Judith Tewes. I’ve read their descriptions and they both sound kind of hilarious!

How many books are on your TBR list?

I have a total of 105 books as of right now.