The Start Of Our Pumpkins

On Sunday, I went over to my nana’s and it was interesting to say the least. It was rainy off and on the whole morning. I got up at 11am, I actually slept in a bit and when I got up, my mom made me “breakfast” she poured me a small bowl full of Coco Pebbles and a cup of milk. I had told her how much I wish I had a little bit of milk inside of the bowl and I never like milk in my cereal. I only like it two different cereals. Anyways, I was happy that I had a straw (I’m always happy for straws!) but I had the awesome idea to hold a good amount of milk inside the straw and lift it into the bowl and let go on top of the cereal. I did this twice so the cereal wasn’t as soggy and it was still good! I was very proud of myself until I made a small spill on my table, but nothing went on the floor so it was okay! Later on, like maybe an hour or so, my mom came in and got me ready to take me over. I was on my Twitter before she came in and was having a hard time keeping my eyes open. Apparently that chocolate rush wasn’t coming anytime soon!

When I got to my nana’s, she just got up from her nap and was more exhausted than she started off being. We honestly didn’t do much. When my parents and I got back from Wal-Mart on Saturday, my mom finished up the rest of the errands she still had to do for my grandparents. She did take over the glitter and crayons we got at Wal-Mart, while she was out. She found smaller pumpkins that were called “pie pumpkins” so I guess these would be great to scoop out the meat inside and use it in a homemade pie. She bought like six of those as they were surprisingly cheaper than the two big ones she got at the store. While she was out, she also got different colors of sharpies and there was something else I can’t remember at the moment. Anyways, I took my Country Living magazine I got at Wal-Mart too! I looked into it when we got home and actually found a great craft to do with one of our smaller pumpkins. Sadly, there’s no link for it anymore on their site, but if you go out and buy the magazine, it’s on page 62 and it’s called the “rubber band pumpkin” and I knew how much my nana have tons of rubber bands, so while she was having her snack I actually began working on the smallest pumpkin and started doing a similar version of the rubber band pumpkin. It started off kind of weird and tricky to do with my toes, but once I got the hang of it, it was quite fun and a big accomplishment as it was my first craft I’ve ever done by myself!

She thought the magazine was very interesting and she loved the different ways to decorate a pumpkin. We are definitely doing the melting crayons on top of the pumpkins again. I got the smaller containers of glitter this time around, they came in a pack of different colors, we’re hoping I’ll be able to grip these bottles better than the big one we had last year. My nana’s probably hoping we don’t have to use anymore of her spoons, but we’ll have to use at least one to scoop out the glue from a small bowl. If I’m going to be doing any of these, I need to figure out things I can actually use and these shortcuts worked great for us the last time! I decided to not hold myself back from my creative juices and actually did a little more to the rubber band pumpkin. He kind of has these two little colored “leaves” on his sides, if I can color him in all the way, I might untangle him from the rubber bands altogether. How I did it: I used the stem as my helper. Thankfully it’s still strong in the top of the pumpkin and when I go to pull on the rubber bands the stem didn’t give out on me. I used slightly bigger bands, they could really stretch. Once I got one on, I went and did the other side etc. I went back and forth and in all I got six or seven on it before it felt like I wouldn’t get anymore on.

867417963
This was taken at the beginning stages. You can clearly see how I got the rubber bands around the sides of the pumpkin using the stem as my guide.

After we got done with decorating and doing what we were willing to do with our pumpkins. It was time for a break, but somehow in the middle of the break I asked about doing another craft. I’ve seen this different bookmarks using paperclips and little decorations on top, she’s got a tin bowl full of buttons and I thought my rock collection was cukoo! I started picking out different ones and then it dawned on me, I mostly read books on my Kindle. Why would I need these? My birthday is coming up so I might be getting physical books sometime soon, so I might actually need these bookmarks. I think it’s better if we just concentration on one project than two. It would be better on both of us! We like to name our pumpkins, my nana had named hers “Charlie” and it’s weird because the big pumpkin my mom brought into the house a few weeks ago, the first name that came into my head was “Linus” and we agreed that would be his name for now on! I haven’t named mine yet. I was thinking “Ruby” but I don’t like it really. So I’m still thinking at the moment. We’ll probably name them all again. It’s very possible we will!

On Friday, my mom did the first part of my nana’s errands and got me a new carton of ice cream, this time instead of getting cookie dough, I got cookies n cream. I feel like I only like four flavors and I’m running out of what to try. So I think next time my mom is going to get the smaller cartons and get a new flavor I’ve never tried before. Right now, I’m going to savor every last bite of these flavor of ice cream! A little bit after I was finished, I cleaned up my area and put everything back in the cabinet. My mom came to get me and take me home. I had stayed at my nana’s for three hours and before I went over there, it looked like it could rain/storm and by the time I got back at home. It was all clear, the temperature was still pretty low but it didn’t stop me from spending an hour or two outside with the babies taking pictures. We have a gorgeous tree out by our neighborhood that has branches of both an emerald green and deep red. It’s a strange mixture of colors but so beautiful too! My mom has noticed my old soul coming out as I voice my love of the changing colors of the leaves. Our trees are slowly changing colors, we have one tree that has a lot of leaves changing and dropping out onto the ground. I decided to take some pictures around the yards again and the cats followed me for the ride too.

Just a fraction of the buttons she had inside the tin bowl.
Just a fraction of the buttons she had inside the tin bowl.
Stormy was NOT in the mood for pictures, but neither was his big brother Grumpy.
Stormy was NOT in the mood for pictures, but neither was his big brother Grumpy.
My mom's lone tree in the front yard is changing leaves and the berries on it are turning into gray little buds.
My mom’s lone tree in the front yard is changing leaves and the berries on it are turning into gray little buds.
This one berry looked like it was ready to explode!
This one berry looked like it was ready to explode!
The pretty autumn ground full of dying leaves, sticks, and dirt.
The pretty autumn ground full of dying leaves, sticks, and dirt.
The "Scoliosis" Tree is still a blooming tee full of deep green leaves, so it's hard to tell where the changing leaves are inside it.
The “Scoliosis” Tree is still a blooming tee full of deep green leaves, so it’s hard to tell where the changing leaves are inside it.
This one was a lot easier to get than the picture above. At least I didn't drop my phone like I did trying to get the berries.
This one was a lot easier to get than the picture above. At least I didn’t drop my phone like I did trying to get the berries.

2 thoughts on “The Start Of Our Pumpkins

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.