Book Review: Burn For Me by Lauren Blakely

Click to purchase this book!
Click to purchase this book!

This book here on the left is a book I got for free on Amazon a few weeks ago. It was longer than the other two I had gotten days prior. I have never read a erotica novel about both firefighters or by Lauren, so this was a first for me on both ends. I definitely don’t regret not getting this book, but sadly by the last few chapters it was fairly difficult to get back in after my breaks. Once I did get interested into it again, all of my love I got for it in the beginning was there to greet me with open arms.

This book was about the point of views of the two main characters, Smith Grayson, the sexy/dirty mouthed/country boy/firefighter. Smith has some surprises up his sleeve, he’s not like every other hottie, this dude has some interesting loves. He knows he’s not the kind of guy a woman would take home to “meet the family” but he loves Jamie and wants to share that there’s more to him than his looks and sex. Jamie Lansing is the barmaid and she is the younger sister of Diane, who’s had some recent troubles with her ex, they were best friends before and then things went under and they broke up and now everytime she finds things out about their past relationship and about his affairs, she cries and leans on her baby sister. Anyways, Jamie is a different kind of woman, she loves poetry, sonnets, and Mad Libs. After listening time after time to Diane’s crying fits about her ex, she doesn’t want to fall for her best friend Smith, but she is perfectly fine with being his friend with benefits.

This was the first book after reading two novellas in between it. Which might’ve been a bad idea in a way because it took me forever to get myself to read it. I’d want to read it but I think I just skimmed through parts, because honestly the only parts that I liked were the sex scenes and romance parts. Out of all topics to put in books, Shakespeare had to be apart of this one. This might’ve been my reason why skimming through it because I’m not a big fan of poems especially old poems. Other than that, the other subjects in the story seemed to be rushed. I wanted to know more about their family lives, the story was mostly about Tennyson and her love of that character and the ending of the whole was quite cheesy and like the chick-flick movies. Even though I had some notes of the book, it wasn’t THAT bad. I really liked it. I’ll be honest though, I’d give a three out of five stars.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Burn For Me by Lauren Blakely

  1. This looks quite similar to some of the books I’ve read lately. I’m getting to the point they’re harder to get through too because it feels like they’re quite repetitive. The last few have been girls who aren’t into the dude, and the dude trying to win her over. I guess that’s what women like. Lol. I think that’s why I enjoy J.M. Madden’s Lost And Found series because it involves different disabilities as they’re all wounded ex-military and that changes things up, even if there’s always a happily ever after. After reading her books, I find a lot of others don’t match up in terms of originality. 🙂

    Sara Bloo xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

