Dear Papaw II

28535342_1768924659838523_1707063689_n

Dear Papaw,

Last year, we discussed basketball, and I know you probably really enjoyed it. I have been learning a lot of terms in the past five months and I’m really enjoying it, but wish I could have you back around so you can see me cuss and scream with joy at my TV late at night just like you. I’m actually still shocked that mom doesn’t put anything on Facebook about that actually! I know she laughs at me though because every once in a while, I can hear her behind the door!

I’m still surprised you never watched a pro basketball game though. I find those are a little bit more interesting! One of the first games I ever watched of the Houston Rockets was when they went up against the Detroit Pistons and what was so cool about it, was the fact they kept going back and forth making three point shots! I was so impressed, but unfortunately, after they went into halftime I never saw finished the game nor did I find out who won it. Now I either watch it and after halftime start recording it or I just tape the entire thing because I get really tired watching the later games!

I recently watched the Dallas Mavericks go up against the Lakers and found out that one of your favorite players from IU was a member on the other team. For some odd reason, I didn’t notice him until the end of the third quarter because the commentators were suddenly talking about him and I immediately recognized the name “Yogi”. He wasn’t the only Hoosier I’ve actually got to see play. Back in November or early December, I finally got to see Cody Zeller play! He really is a tall dude but also looks like he’s thirty years old too!

Let’s get out of talking about basketball, but don’t worry, we’ll go back to it in a minute!

As you may know, little Emily is pregnant and Kristi is expecting #2! There’s babies all over the place! Is anybody else going to announce their pregnant in the next coming months that you know about up there?

It’s still a bit of a shock knowing that she’s not only married now but growing a baby in her baby when I literally have vivid memories of her being in mom’s belly. I still remember the day we all went to see her on the ultrasound. I vaguely remember being amazed that this stick like thingy could see through the uterus and map out an image of a fetus, and as a four year old that was like the coolest thing ever! I have yet to see Nolan move on it, but there’s a reason for that. Apparently, there’s just enough room for the doctor, mommy, and daddy in the room. So I’m left seeing the ultrasound pictures on Facebook, because mom keeps forgetting to actually show me the pictures!

When we found out that Emily and Brandon were expecting a boy, I will be honest and say that I was shocked. I really wanted a girl, but mostly because we all know how to take care of girls, plus Brandon has two sisters so even knows things about girls (somewhat) so knowing that he’d get a boy probably made him very happy, but I think figuring out that Emily also wanted a boy was interesting! I mean, since it’s been announced I’ve had many dreams of her getting peed on in the middle of the day, which means if I decide to take up the challenge of changing a diaper, it will be me getting wet instead.

I think it’ fair to say that almost everybody has purchased something for them, but mom has a full bag of baby clothes, while both dad and I have one outfit picked out for him. We at least have control over ourselves, but I have a feeling you were trying to influence me these last two months with the onesie I got for him. Amazon had cute little onesies that had collars like you used to wear and mom didn’t like them! One thing though is that I do think the one I got will work better as its more casual.

28536475_1768924629838526_1468751189_n

Brandon and I are going to be awful with this kid, as he loves DC and I’m on team Marvel, thankfully he has been buying him both sides but you know if I get the chance of changing his clothes, I’m going to put him in anything Avengers. The last time we went to Walmart, I saw these Avengers sneakers and I almost got them because I felt like I wouldn’t see them the next time. We both like the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles so we’re good there, it’s just colleges now is our issue. Brandon has a lot of North Carolina stuff on his wish list but I’m the good one. I’m trying to keep up with the tradition of the Butler shirts. This definitely won’t be his only shirt, as Emily saw little Butler booties and now I want to get those to complete the whole package!

Well, I think I’m done with this now. Hope you are still watching over us and enjoying your time in heaven with some of your friends too.

Love and miss you.

snowflake

One thought on “Dear Papaw II

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.