Blogger Recognition Award!

17264431_1190394797736768_1690094818049613578_n

It’s been a while since I’ve been nominated for another one of these blogger awards. I look at these as patches you earn for the good work you’ve done on your blog, and use to display them proudly on the right side of my toolbar, but then I thought that wasn’t fair for the bloggers who haven’t been nominated for an award, so I took away the patches so I didn’t look like I was bragging.

I don’t regret that decision, nor does it bug me that other bloggers keep their awards up on their sidebars either. We all want to be recognized for the hard work we do on our blogs or YouTube channels in one way or another. It makes us feel good to be recognized, just because I choose to keep mine away, doesn’t mean I’m not proud of my accomplishments. I often tell myself these are good enough than compared to these new awards that mostly go by the amount of followers and endorsements. I’m not attacking the ones who have been nominated in that way, I really say kudos to you!

Thank you to Sarah of Whimsical Mumblings Blog for thinking of me for this award! Hope you have a great week ahead of you!

The Rules
    • Thank the blogger who nominated you & provide a link to their blog
    • Write a post to show your award
    • Give a brief story about how your blog started
    • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
    • Select 15 bloggers you want to nominate
    • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated, with a link to the post you created.

Why Did I Create “Got Meghan’s Blog”?

I’ve actually been blogging under another username for two years prior before creating this blog. In 2011, I decided I wanted to change it up, I got bored of blogging on my original site but I also was paranoid that my former teacher and students were still reading my posts and such, so I figured it was time to find another blogging platform and within two months I created this blog. It was a spur of the moment kind of deals.

I was listed under another name but I didn’t want to be categorized into one thing. I felt the name I had chosen wouldn’t allow me to branch out to other topics I wanted to talk about, so thankfully I had been using “gotmeghan” on Twitter since probably late 2009. I felt it was a good brand name since you don’t really know what you’ll find in it. At the time, I didn’t exactly know what all I would be writing about; I always knew I was a lifestyle blogger but I also knew I had to talk about disability issues as well. Over the years, it just became a hodgepodge of different things and I like it that way!

Advice For New Bloggers:

When I first had my blog I was honestly thought I was the only blogger, until I was searching on Twitter in 2014 and found a lot of bloggera! I realized that the community was board, people from all over talking about beauty, fashion and lifestyle topics. When I first looked around I couldn’t believe my eyes because it was like 2012 all over again, feeling like I was the only one with my disability and then all of a sudden I find other people and children with Arthrogryposis too!

However, if you like being an outcast that’s fine too. I have seen a lot of bloggers that are very selective in the community and I think that keeps them interesting! They don’t want to do what everybody else is doing, sort of like me. I like being able to make my blog more like an actual brand whereas some bloggers just want to keep it as a hobby. It’s your choice to do whatever you want.

I Nominate These Blogs:

HilaryStyle
nickyashleigh
EmilyBecca
Kitten Wolfheart
SimplyEmma
The Happy Lakspur
Vegas Girl Blog
Nourish ME
Annesmiles
Shona Harding
The Flower That Blooms
Iga Berry
The Curvaceous Vegan
Sarah in Wonderland
Carpe Diem Emmie

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

15 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award!

  1. Loved your answers here Meghan, and thank you so much for nominating me, as Sarah did too, but I’ve already been given this a few weeks back so I’ve already shared my answers, but just being nominated again by you is the nicest thing, so thank you! I love that you tackle different subjects on your blog, and that it’s got a good variety of things, that’s what draws me back here each time, and you always make me smile or think with each post. Love your advice to new bloggers too – you don’t have to do what everyone else is doing, it’s so true! – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.