Tune Tuesday | Iceland ’17

17952003_1450532141677778_8114804070898961208_n

Howdy!

I’m very excited to finally talk about a country that I’ve added to my list this year! ICELAND! I actually don’t know many Icelandic artists but I did know about one and I think once everybody hears their name, they’ll probably think “they’re from Iceland?” At least that’s what my initial thought was when I first heard about it.

I think I’ll go with the newest band first, now I know you’ve heard of these guys lately. They’ve been played on the Top 40 radio stations all over and had their song “Way Down We Go” featured on different TV shows!  Kaleo are an indie rock band from Reykjavik and consist of JJ Julius Son on both guitar and vocals, David Antonsson does backing vocals and plays the drums, Daniel Kristjansson is their bassist and to round them off is guitarist Rubin Pollock.  They’re currently on tour now until November!

Does Of Monsters & Men ring a bell? The band came about in 2010 and members Nanna Bryndís Hilmarsdóttir and Ragnar Þórhallsson are guitarists and who share vocalists, Brynjar Leifsson he is the lead guitarist, Kristján Páll Kristjánsson plays bass and Arnar Rósenkranz Hilmarsson does the drums. They’ve released two albums and one live album and EP. Unfortunately I cannot find out if they are working on another album right now.

If you know of any more Icelandic music and want me to continue to list them on Tune Tuesday, please let me know!

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

