REVIEW | The White Queen

Hey guys!

So I’ve been really into different TV shows lately! I’ve surprised myself at times because they’ve been about almost everything! I’ve decided to review three or four, whatever I choose to talk about for the next couple of weeks.

First up was shown on the network Starz one night. I’ve only seen it on my guide probably two times in my whole life and apparently it’s only been that one episode they air. I watched The White Queen! Back in February, I watched The Tudors and that took up quite a bit of my time and I really enjoyed it, mostly because of the stories of King Henry VIII and his wives, daughters, and counselors. It was all very interesting to me because I’m so into that part in history, but The White Queen predates him. The story is about Elizabeth Woodville, a widow and mother of two boys who meets King Edward IV and they fall in love, get married in secret and she comes to court with her family and everything turns very ugly. She is not accepted into Edward’s family: George, Richard and Cecily, the Duchess.

The show not only tells the story of this section of the family, but also of the Warwick family who are cousins of Edward, George, and Richard. Lord Richard Warwick made Edward king giving him the nickname “The Kingmaker”. The story goes on to discuss the daughters of Lord Warwick who were Isabel (she married the oldest brother George) and youngest daughter Anne who married firstly Edward of Westminster while her father tried to win the throne over Edward IV for her brother-in-law George. This Edward dies in battle and she later becomes a wife to the younger brother of the king, Richard. The addition of the first Tudor family is mentioned with Lady Margaret Beafort who gave birth to Henry Tudor who would later become King Henry VII of England and it talks about the ups and downs of both of their lives as this reign of the King and Queen goes on!

Sorry if any of this confuses you! Since almost every name I’ve heard in both The White Queen and The Tudors repeats throughout things can get very confusing! Anyways, the stories of this family and “War Of The Roses” actually comes from a series of books from Phillippa Gregory and the books, “The White Queen, The Red Queen, and The Kingmaker’s Daughter”. The first book was on my to be read list on Goodreads at one time and so was a book called The Princes In The Tower which the shows talks about towards the end.

If you decide to watch the show, I should probably tell you the whole thing is one whole season. Yeah, that wasn’t very loved by me because I wanted it to be longer!  After I was finished, hell even while I was in the middle of the second episode I couldn’t help keeping myself after from looking ahead and reading different articles about the families, because I was wondering how much of it was true. You get that way after watching The Tudors like crazy! You also become like this when the whole timeline is turned into 22 episodes. Even you know the writers left out a bunch of different things! So I guess that would be its only downfall. I liked the conflict between all of the characters, I really liked the storyline between Richard and Anne towards the end. And what I found about Richard as I watched the last episode was very interesting! Another love I had were the women’s braids. They were so gorgeous!

Have you watched The White Queen? What do you like or dislike about it?

More information about Richard:

http://www.archaeology.org/slideshow/508-king-richard-iii-england-bones-skeleton