5 Disney Sequels I Love!

Untitled

Howdy!

I know a lot of people rarely like the Disney sequels, mostly because they usually come out whenever the children that fell in love with the original are a little older so their interest is lower and sometimes they don’t have the same actors and lose the plot line and that sort of doesn’t help either, so not a lot of people share my love for the sequels, but I’m okay with that. I tend to only love the second movie that comes out. I’ll watch the other sequels afterwards but I hardly ever like them as much. And yes, I am writing this post because of Frozen is getting a sequel itself! I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to write it though!

I tried to rate them according to keeping the theme of the original plot and voices in characters. Hope you all enjoy!

 tumblr_nuwlvgnfc11ug2mhco1_500

1.) Lion King II: Simba’s Pride (1998)

I can barely get through the first Lion King film in one sitting, mostly because of Mufasa’s death. I could barely watch it when I was a kid but we didn’t have the power to fast forward that whole scene in the 90’s unless you wanted to stand up against the VCR for the whole time! One of the drawbacks of having a physical disability.

I loved the fact that they gave Simba a daughter, because I felt as though it would be payback for how Simba was when he was younger. She gave him a round for his money! I was always confused though, at the last of the original you ultimately thought the cub that Nala gave birth to was a male, so when you watch this and you see that the color is more of a orange-y hue and its a female, it makes you ask “did the other one die?” Another drawback was Kovu, was he or wasn’t he Scar’s son? I thought Scar was a good villain until I saw Zira. I thought she was ruthless!

Kiara was my favorite like Nala was my favorite in the first film. I liked the name too! I think my favorite scene of all-time is when both prides meet to fight and Zira’s group get all muddy like they put on their war paint and that whole part was amazing! However, it does make me a bit sad though! I did enjoy seeing Timon and Pumba getting their hands (and hoofs) dirty again!

tumblr_muft5uyloy1sq85i2o1_500

2.) Toy Story 2 (1999)

If you were to ask me which I preferred from the first Toy Story movie and it’s sequel, I’d probably have to choose this one! As I mentioned in my last Disney movie post, I didn’t necessarily mesh well with the first one as I do now! Now for this one, I did but I don’t know why.

I hated the fact that Woody breaks his arm and he gets put up on the shelf, it broke my heart and then to top it all off, he gets stolen after trying to rescue another toy! I loved how Buzz and the others go after him though. One of the things I really thought was interesting on how they played on a collector’s mind, he had every character and merchandise of the show; people have collections of Funko pops and My Little Pony, it’s fine to collect toys just don’t go stealing something that doesn’t belong to you!

My favorite character is Jessie, so quirky and terrified of being abandoned and the dark. Two of my greatest fears! I also loved the song by Sarah McLachlan, first off, it still makes me want to cry everytime I hear it, but it’s so beautiful and goes with that scene so well. As far as my favorite scene though, I think it’s a cross between Bullseye licking the cheese puffs off of Al’s fingers and when Woody is getting a makeover from that old man, he just reminds me of my papaw!

original

3.) Lady And The Tramp II: Scamp’s Adventure (2001)

For these next three movies, I haven’t seen them for the last 12-14 years. They are hardly ever played on Freeform or NickJr (don’t knock it until you try it!) so I had to look into the layers of gifs to figure out what the crap they were about again!

I love Lady and The Tramp in general, I wish it was aired more on TV! I remember the second film was one of the most-watched movies I watched while I was busy recovering from having my surgeries in 2002. I loved Scamp’s rebellious phase, the opening of the movie was typical of a male puppy. At least, it became typical when Blondie and Brandon adopted Chipper! He has yet to calm down! I thought the 3 sisters were annoying though, I wish there was one of them who was at least friends with Scamp. Thank god for Angel though.

I loved the dog pound guy, but mainly because he sounded like Don Knotts. Unfortunately, since I haven’t seen it in a long time, I cannot chose a favorite scene. Sorry!

tumblr_mnxj36rkdo1s04pgto8_500

4.) The Little Mermaid II: Return To The Sea (2000)

I absolutely love this movie! Again, as I mentioned in my last post I always had  love/hate relationship with the original film because of the context. Although it has some disability undertones, I’ve never really enjoyed it. So the fact that I actually enjoyed the second was interesting.

I thought the beginning was adorable! The birth of a princess named Melody, who looked more like Prince Eric than her own mother, wanted to learn everything she could about the sea and since Ursula’s sister came to crash her big day as a baby, she never got to truly understand why her mother wanted to keep her safe and out of the water completely. What is it about these rebellious characters that I like so much?

I think my favorite scene was when she was given that necklace in the beginning and we got to see Flounder as an older fish? And have his own set of kids. It made you have many feels! I feel like that this was as close to the original as possible just backwards, instead of wanting to have feet, Melody wanted fins and in the end everybody gets their wish!

giphy2

5.) Pocahontas II: Journey To The New World (1998)

I really loved the first Pocahontas, but I happen to love anything about the Native American culture, even as a kid. Sadly, I’m not as interested but I’ve discovered a few other cultures over the years, in each one the other sort of dies down. I do go in spurts though so it’s not like I hate it.

I remember when this move came out, since it was direct-to-video I think dad or somebody in our family bought it and then when I had my birthday either that year or the next, my family friends surprised us with another video of it. I’m not going to lie, we kept it in case we ever lost the other one. Sad to say, but I’m pretty sure our cat Oliver threw up all over the case so we never got to open the spare! This is another one that I haven’t seen several years, so I’m not as descriptive as I have been with the others.

Were you a fan of the many Disney sequels? If so, which ones are your favorites?

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

One thought on “5 Disney Sequels I Love!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.