Book Review: “Rough” by Renee Rose and Vanessa Vale

Hello!

I have been on a serious romance kick for the last two months. Honestly, I don’t have any shame for it because in last year’s reading challenge I told myself that I needed to read other genres than besides erotica, and I did manage to keep them at a low amount but for 2021, it’s a freaking mess!

I have never been interested in cowboys before, trust me, I went to a high school were the majority of the boys were in cowboy boots, lived out in rural areas, and would rather be fishing and hunting than go to school. So, I have been really pushing these types of guys away for a very long time and ever since I found Vanessa Vale’s books, I’ve sort of changed my views on cowboys…


28581456._SY475_

Pack Rule #1: Never reveal to a human.

I broke that rule the day I met the beautiful doctor.
I might be a rodeo champ, but she made me lose my concentration on the back of a bull.
Now the sweet female is on to me since being gored means injury.
When I heal within hours, she knows something’s not right.
My alpha told me to watch her.
Not a problem. I’ll watch her all right. Real close.
I’ll stick to her like superglue. And those human men who want to date her? They’d better step back.
Because the doctor is all mine.
Whether she knows it yet or not.

taken from Goodreads.


Here’s the deal, I follow Vanessa on Instagram and she had posted that this book “Rough” is free on Amazon and I couldn’t help myself. It is my second (but third overall!) book that was written by Vanessa. but this time she is working with another author by the name of Renee Rose. I haven’t read any of Renee’s books before but I was very curious about how this was going to go, and it is probably best to see what genres the second author is generally writing in her books, or you’ll end up like me, who was on chapter three I think, before I figured out that Boyd’s “wolf” isn’t just a name he chose to call his dick. He’s actually a wolf!

In my defense, I rarely look up what the story is about, and apparently the words: Wolf Ranch wasn’t registering to me before I downloaded it because all I saw was the hot blue-y cover and went mine in my head so I am slightly embarrassed that I didn’t put these elements together in the first place–I mean, I had to do a double take at first, because I just wasn’t expecting it. Vanessa talks about Montana and cowboys, but not shapeshifters or werewolves, so I quickly thought “well, this must be Renee’s influence here” and went on with reading about Boyd and Audrey’s love fest.

.I was a good girl and imagined a wild romp in bed.

Overall, I really loved this book. There were a couple of things that I had issues with, but probably the biggest thing that bugged me was while I was updating my progress on Goodreads, the page number stops at 222, whereas it is like 400+ at least on the Kindle version! So, I would like somebody to fix that issue because everytime I wanted to see how far along I was, I couldn’t and it drove me nuts! Anyways, the story itself was definitely a lot more emotional, and I really enjoyed seeing the male love interest show his feelings for not only Audrey, but his past too! Despite the hot sex scenes, Boyd Wolf almost had me in tears at the end! And Audrey was everything, she wants the stereotypical American family, but she doesn’t believe someone as gorgeous and/or successful like Boyd would want that with her. I can relate to that because I am currently dealing with that sort of thing… but without the werewolf in the picture.

It was a really interesting story from start to finish and I think once I am allowed to buy more books (that won’t happen for a while! I don’t want to talk about it.) I would like to get the next couple of books to see what else happens to these special characters. If you love wild boys, well, get ready because they’re coming in hot!

Have you read the Wolf Ranch series by Renee Rose and Vanessa Vale? If you have, what were your thoughts on bringing the supernatural aspect to a cowboy hoedown? Have you ever read a book with two authors but one, you have absolutely no experience with before going in? What were your thoughts on that as well?

One thought on “Book Review: “Rough” by Renee Rose and Vanessa Vale

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.