June Playlist

Hello!

How are you? How is summer treating you? I truly hope you are doing well.

A little update on me, I’m doing all right. Naturally, I hate summer. I find something on Facebook the other day about when we were kids, we were so excited for summer break, because mainly we’re done with school and would be able to do what we wanted the next two and a half months. I grew up in the late 90’s and most of 00’s, and we did NOT have the summers we do now. However, I remember we were always on the go, taking trips, hanging out with family, had some kind of pool and maybe that’s why I don’t really remember the actual heat outside.

Besides that, I am looking forward to July. We are (hopefully) going up north to visit with family. It’s been a whole year since we’ve made the trip and we’re doing something completely different, and since our plans at in the middle of the month, I will say it now, there will be no blog posts next month. I don’t want to add any more stress on myself to get things done beforehand and after we get back.


Now with that out of the way, let’s get into some music.

This month, I decided to read or rather listen to Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros. It took me almost a whole month to get through it, but I did it. I’ve never read a 20-hour audiobook before, so it was very time-consuming, but still enjoyable! I liked it a little more than Witches of East End by Melissa de la Cruz. I’ve always had an issue or two with her books though.

And yes, I have created an aesthetic playlist for FW on Spotify and I’m still fixing it up before I decide to share it with everyone. I have changed up the music genres in this one to give it more of an edge that I felt it needed as I would continue to listen to it. I may release it just before the Summer ’24 playlist in September.

For June though, these are my Top 20 songs. If you’d like to check out the whole playlist, click here. Enjoy!

Before I go, I wanted to recommend a couple of new albums.

At the start of the month, I saw Bad Omens had a new release, “Concrete Jungle: The OST” – I still don’t understand what the “OST” means, but I listened to it and the first thing it reminded me of Linkin Park’s “Reanimation” album (2002) as it has remix versions of their songs featured on “Hybrid Theory” and it includes a lot of interesting artists, like ERRA, WARGASM, and We Are Fury.

The second was Bring The New Horizon’s “POST HUMAN: NeX Gen” and I haven’t been keeping up with the band since they released “That’s the Spirit” mainly because I don’t like their alternative route. And then, I heard “Strangers” and “Kool-Aid” and I kind of began to love their stuff again. I’m slowly getting into the metalcore scene, and this album is heavy, but full of various elements that make BMTH them as a whole.

Next up, I found Lindsay Stirling was coming out with her seventh album “Duality” and I usually love her albums right away. Lindsay is a completely different artist compared to the bands’ I’ve talked about, her music is mainly instrumental, violin-based, pop. I literally found her first single “Evil Twin” a week or two before the album dropped… And of course, I did love it. My favorites included “Eye Of The Untold Her,” “Purpose.” and “The Scarlet Queen.”

And finally, our last recent release is, Faroese-artist Eivør Pálsdóttir or simply, Eivør. She’s known within the electronica and folk world, but more noticeable working with the Netflix series “The Lost Kingdom.” She sings in Icelandic, Danish and English. I’ve used a few of her songs in my Vikings aesthetic playlists. She released “Enn” the same week as Lindsey, so I’ve had an interesting time lately. It’s gentle, soft and touching, considering the fact I am not familiar with her native langauge. I thoroughly enjoyed the title track as it is so soothing to listen, and the other is, “Jarðartrá.”

That’s it. That’s all I have for you today. I hope you have enjoyed this very long post, but most importantly, found some good music for your summer trip or in the middle of a night.

What are you listening to?

snowflake

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.