For The Love Of Musicals

Untitled

Hi 🙂

It’s crazy to think I’ve actually never talked about my love of musicals! Well, that’s actually not true. I have said some things here and there, but never fully explained how it got started and what are some of my favorites! So I figured this would be a good opportunity to do it now!

A little background story!

Funnily enough, I’ve been interested in musicals for YEARS! It had to have started whenever I was in concert choir in middle school. Now I know I’ve said this a few times, so I apologize if this is your second time hearing this part of the story. When it was musical season, our choir director would basically take time out of our class periods to do things in the auditorium and set up certain things. We would go back and forth between the auditorium and the actual room, so he could keep an eye on us.

When we were in the auditorium we hardly did anything but talk, but at least we were all in the same place, whereas when he’d leave us in the room, he’d set up a different musical for us to watch. In the two times I was in choir and four seasons of musicals they did, I’m pretty sure I saw like 10 musicals! One of which was Newsies and it was his favorite, but I saw it 3 times! Twice in one year actually! I’m making him out that he forced us to watch them all, he’d try to threaten the people in the classes that if they pay attention or got any louder we’d be quizzed on it. So I always feared that would happen considering how many times I told everybody to shush! Honestly though, I did enjoy watching each one! I really liked choir and singing, but my thing was the dance numbers! Those were my favorites! After the first three films we ever watched, I did grow to love them a lot.

I’ve been fairly proud of myself for still being interested in musicals after high school. I’m pretty open on the different topics. I wish I could watch some of the older ones though. I remember one day my choir teacher showed us a scene of Bye Bye Birdie and I remember all of the yellow dresses and that it featured Dick Van Dyke but we never got to finish it and I’ve never seen it since. It’s basically one of the reasons why I keep Turner Classic Movies on my channel guide!

Some of the musicals I remember we watched were: The Wiz, Damn Yankees, South of the Pacific, and Camelot (this was the film our teacher told us that has the first actor that played Albus Dumbledore in the first Harry Potter films in it!).

musicials

Now let’s talk about some of my favorites!

Grease (1978)

I don’t remember what year it was when I first watched this movie. I think it was either a year or two before I had my surgeries though. I watched it with Blondie and a friend. This was the first time I was introduced to the whole 1950’s culture. Surprisingly I loved the fashion, the dresses were very pretty! I love a period piece even if it is for a musical!

I was a bit shocked to see John Travolta in it as a young dude! I had been watching different movies with him in it for a few years before I saw this. I was familiar with his dancing skills but not at this level. I really love the big dance scene in the gym, where everybody’s doing these different moves and tricks! It’s so hard to pick a favorite in the film, but I think my favorite characters are Rizzo and Frenchy!

From Justin To Kelly (2002)

This movie has a LOT of people hating on it. Even Kelly Clarkson hates it! I sort of understand why people don’t like it though. It is a bit corny in parts, finding your soulmate on spring break and losing them even though they all commute around the same places! And the whole thing of putting Kelly and Justin’s characters together was even worse!

I have to say this was my first musical I ever watched on my own! I don’t think my choir teacher would ever see it. I don’t even remember why I bought it. I want to say it was given to us as a gift considering we saw the American Idol finale at Shriner’s while I was recovering from my surgeries. My mom and some of the nurses were watching it. I think we got like a year or maybe three years afterwards. So I had heard of what everybody had been saying about it. I didn’t care–still don’t. I still like the songs and dances, even the clothes were awesome! At one point, I even tried to get the same hairstyle and color into my hair, didn’t look as cool as Kelly Clarkson I’ll just say that!

The Phantom Of The Opera (2004)

I actually saw this movie while I was in concert choir. I had actually tried to dodge it in the previous years after it came out, but you weren’t given that option in choir so I watched and kind of enjoyed it! I still try to shield myself from the scene when the phantom comes into the room from the mirror. I was haunted by that for a few months or so afterwards!

This was my introduction to the play, it wasn’t until probably 2012 that I found out there were a couple other versions and films but I really enjoyed Emmy Rossum and Gerard Butler in it. This was definitely the reason why I love opera so much! I don’t know very many because some do give me headaches but I’m hoping one day I will be able to experience a real ballet/opera/play one day!

Dreamgirls (2006)

I remember watching the previews for this movie, but I think it took me like two years after it was released to actually watch it. So I kept hearing about the Golden Globe and Academy Award nominations for the entire film and Jennifer Hudson!

I liked how it wasn’t necessarily directed towards just Beyonce, which is what I was worried about while seeing the trailers. Everybody has a role, whether it’s a main or supporting. They each have a different story to tell within the plot. Some of the things I really liked about the movie itself were the costumes, the scene where they’re at Cesaer’s Palace about to perform for New Year’s Eve and they are in those blue dresses! I loved them so much and then the last scene of their farewell performance and they’re in those gray/purple dresses! They looked so beautiful!

My favorite songs were “Family,” “And I Am Telling You I’m Not Going,” “When I First Saw You,” “Patience” and both versions of “One Night Only”

Burlesque (2010)

This is probably one of the most recent ones I’ve seen! I’ve seen a lot of remakes, not any originals lately. And yes, I did watch this because Christina Aguilera was in it! Don’t judge me!

I have never heard of burlesque before I saw this, so the fact that there are some actual differences between just stripping your clothes and this was very informative I thought! I really like the glitz and glamour despite not having the guts to do it myself! I really liked the characters, Kristen Bell basically plays a bad girl and not only was this Xtina’s first film but it was Julienne Hough’s first too! I really loved both Cher and Stanley Tucci’s characters, they were hilarious and Stanley plays a good gay guy!

Are you a fan of musicals? What are some of your favorites? 

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “For The Love Of Musicals

  1. Oh I love musicals too, especially ones like Wicked! and Cats as well, they’re just so good and I love the combination of music, great storylines and loveable characters too. Grease is one of my all time favourites too, it’s just so good and the songs are so catchy, and I think Phantom of the Opera will always go down as being one of the best as well. I really want to see The Lion King musical too. – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

