Nana’s Birthday Fun!

Hi 🙂

It’s been a while since I’ve actually done a big family weekend post! I’ve been wanting to keep some things private, since my papaw’s passing I’ve been really cherishing the time with them and usually we’re not even taking pictures of what we’ve been doing, so that’s the other reason why you haven’t seen a lot lately!

My cousin Taylor and his mom, my Aunt Laurie have spring break the last week of March, where it goes into April. This has always been such a blessing because my nana’s birthday is during the first few days of the month so they get to come down without having to worry about going back to work two days later! They came down without Mike, because he still had to work and that part sucked! They also brought their dog Mila, she’s a lab/German Shepard mix if I haven’t said that yet! I don’t think I have though! She’s such a sweetie and since my aunt and uncle are deaf, she has to be very alert to know what they are saying, and yes she does know sign language. It’s so cute!

They came down on Saturday afternoon, they enjoyed their alone time with my nana. Poor Laurie and Taylor were put to work after a bit after they got there I think. The last time they came down, everybody brought down like 10 drawers from upstairs and throughout both February and March, my nana and I have been slowly getting through them. For the most part, we cleared out I think five big drawers and a smaller one. I moved them into papaw’s room as she finished each one so we had more room to move around in the living room. Thankfully, I had physical therapy in the last two months so my strength was back in full force and I could lift these without having back and neck problems!

I had them folded on their sides and stacked on top of each other in my papaw’s room! I had never left more like Supergirl until I did this! They were heavy, but not as we expected them to be! So when Laurie arrived, she had Taylor carry them back upstairs and now we only have two left and that is mostly DAR and genealogy stuff! Other than that, the living room is as good as new!

On Sunday, my nana had some extra guests come over. She basically had everybody in her family come down, as Rick and Linda were down on Saturday for lunch! David, Katt, my cousin Kristi came down as a surprise, they’re really good at that! Kristi came bearing her almost three-month old “baby” boy Joseph! My nana has been dying to meet this little guy, along the rest of us too! I didn’t know she had come down with them until I was in the car with Blondie, Brandon and Chipper in the McDonald’s drive thru! Unfortunately I can’t hold babies, it really sucks but since he was like under 20 pounds, my thighs are okay with it!

I have asked Kristi if I could share a picture of him, and she said yes, so you guys get to meet the little ham!

We didn’t stay very long as my mom had to work that weekend so when she finally came over, she was very tired and I think only stayed over less than an hour! It was okay since we came back the next day, but David, Katt, Kristi and little Joe went home that afternoon!

On Monday, it was somewhat of a blur, especially in my mind! That’s the one bad thing about family gatherings, is that sometimes my conscience goes in and out, so I tend to forget things that went on if it’s longer than two days! I do remember taking lots of pictures, I will have two DIY projects coming soon! One is a combination of Easter/spring, but the other was somewhat of a surprise. It was more of my nana’s idea, she originally wanted video of it but I figured it would be more than a minute so we compromised and I will blog it instead! I think you guys will like it!

The whole weekend we were expected to get some bad storms, but they kept going to the next day and the next. Our weather is very bipolar here in the Midwest! Since we never got the storms, we went outside a couple of times. I tried to take pictures but it was very bright and I don’t do enough roaming around on the sidewalk that I didn’t feel safe moving a lot plus the bottom of my foot didn’t like the feel of the concrete, so I only managed to get one picture before heading back inside! My mom and Aunt Laurie put up her new bird feeder that Uncle Mike made for her! It’s very cool, unfortunately I do not have a tutorial for that, sorry!

And then finally on Tuesday, we did something that we don’t normally do! In our hometown, there’s a new restaurant called Cakes & Coffee Cafe and they always have their specials of the day hanging outside the building and so whenever my mom and I drive by we always look at their specials! It’s become our thing now! We finally went there to eat and check it out and I was very happy!

The building was a bank for decades before it laid empty for most of my childhood. We moved into the area when I was like six years old and we’ve also driven past it and it looks so modern up against these older buildings, that have been there since the town was established in the early 1800s! It was now owned by a family friend Randy. I always thought it would be smaller once inside, because it just sort of gives you that illusion that it would have a small interior.

Once you walk in, the amount of space grabs you and then you look around at all of the back and white pictures of how the town used to look like was intoxicating! It was like a mini museum and I couldn’t get enough! We have a well-known celebrity that was born and raised here and it is baseball legend Gil Hodges; there were pictures and a huge plaster head of him hanging above a doorway, but the main attraction is the vault. They still have that little room and the giant door! The space and walls have become a place where you can write your name on! So before we all left, we signed it and my nana had a ball! We even got our pictures done in the actual vault!

This was what I got, just your normal biscuits and gravy with a little cup of fresh fruit! I made the mistake of not asking for a kid’s cup for my drink beforehand because when it arrived to our table, we all looked at like “uh oh!” but surprisingly I could reach it but next time, we’ll be asking for a small cup!

17799411_10202749053285534_7101799147659453657_n

My nana aka “the birthday girl” got the special of the day which was Turkey Manhattan. She let me have a bite of it and it was good! My mom and Aunt Laurie got a chicken salad on a croissant, like a real croissant! They ordered German potato salad as their side! Taylor went in the same route as I did and got breakfast too. He got pancakes and managed to finish his before any of us! That’s a growing boy for you!

17800328_10202749053325535_6680794072063373822_n

After we got back to the house, it was time for cake and my Aunt Laurie made a chocolate cake with rainbow sprinkles! Everybody had a small slice of cake and I obviously was too full from my meal because I didn’t eat very much of my piece. I didn’t even have any ice cream!

One of the last things we did was play a couple of rounds of UNO. I have owed my cousin Taylor two rounds of it since November and I managed to win twice but when Laurie joined, she won the next one and then my nana played the last game and Laurie won again! My poor nana still doesn’t know the symbols on the cards, and can barely figure out the colors so she made it kind of interesting and hilarious for all of us! I’m still shocked that I won at all! I literally never win at UNO! I think Taylor was probably surprised too!

I think it was a good weekend with my family! Apparently so good that Tuesday night I crashed so hard that I laid on one side of my bed for six hours straight! And then when my mom woke me up before she went to work the next morning, she gave me another muscle relaxer and I crashed again, waking up at 12:35pm, but I didn’t care!

I apologize for the pictures below, my mom’s camera has been making them kind of grainy in a strange way! 

How was your weekend? Did you do anything fun and exciting?!

17426150_10202749055365586_1403963792975311963_n17799901_10202749054645568_4008967241577566658_n17522992_10202749054765571_7850876130195036989_n17523008_10202749055485589_2175732416605295001_n17759814_10202749053405537_7185252637830444532_n17760085_10202749055325585_426243980238619630_n17799902_10202749054685569_3764895982162060028_n

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin