Album Review: “Things I’ve Never Said” by Frances

frances.pngHello! I am back with another album review! April might have a couple of these bad boys because honestly March had some great music releases! And here I’ve been saying I wouldn’t find a solution to my no new good music attitude in March, I think it’s fair say that came back to bite me in the butt! Oh well, I’m honestly happier being proved wrong any day!

Everybody knows (or should know) by now that I am a metalhead, but I do love my indie music too! I am more into pop indie records and women singers in this genre, I don’t know if it’s because they have more power to make the music feel like a dream or what, but I am addicted to it. Frances is a British singer who makes this kind of indie music. It’s easy going and if you’re having a rough time like I’ve been having lately, it’ll sooth the pain away than using my normal rock bands–which don’t get me wrong, they do the trick, but if I want to chill out and float away in my head, I’d rather use Frances and other artists like her such as Banks, Daughter and Zella Day as my medicine!

Frances debut album was released on March 17, 2017 which was a good day for new music releases you had Zara Larsson, Pitbull and Rick Ross. On Spotify, it has just the deluxe edition but like with my other reviews I only talk about the standard editions, so unfortunately I will not talk about the last five tracks of the album. Sorry!

Okay, let’s get started! First track is “Don’t Worry About Me” and I’m not going to lie, I love how this is how you start off the album. Frances has a beautiful voice and I love a capella beginning but they’re not used in the intro of the albums very much! I also love only having the piano behind her too! It’s such a heartwarming type of song and in the first time I heard it, I realized it had made the decision to be discussed for me! It is that good! The next track is  “Love Me Again” and this one has a more cheery vibe in the way she’s singing it, the whole atmosphere has changed from the first one where that one has more of a somber way about it. Two songs in and you get a very caring feel in the songs as she’s singing them! Another difference in this is the addition of the drums and guitars as it continues through, I just love it!

Third is a song called “Drifting” and I like the uppity sound of the piano in the start, it has a sort of calming but playful vibe in the entire thing. It’s so fun and almost coming of age story within too! Oh, this is my favorite so far! “Cloud 9” is after and it’s so easy-going and absolutely beautiful! I wish I could get my sister to use this at her wedding this summer! Hell, the entire album would be great! I think I’ve heard of this next song “Let It Out” recently, my brain instantly went to some of my shows; I don’t know where it was played on, but I’ll try to find out! It’s a very pretty song though! I think this one sounds more pop-y than the last few songs, maybe it’s because of how the sound and tempo changes at the choruses, but that’s what I thought during the first real listen of the track.

If I thought the last one had a pop-y sound, I apparently don’t listen to a lot of pop music anymore, because “No Matter” has an even bigger pop sound than that one! I suck! Anyways, I really like it though! It has a dance worthy beat, which is a plus with me! Maybe somebody will use it on Dancing With The Stars this season! The next song “Under Our Feet” brings us back to the relaxing feeling that Frances is good at giving to her listeners! I really love her soft but amazing vocals! I am definitely in love with her high notes in this song, she doesn’t push herself and they’re lovely! I also like how it just trails off and you have these little “ohs” and that just sort of fade off into the sunset. I apologize for that metaphor!

The eighth track is “Grow” and this is a very beautiful song! It’s so simple and great that I’m a little bit speechless right now! This will be used on my bad days for sure! Next is “Say It Again” and this has a pop-y vibe but it’s not as much as the others.  I am really loving these “lovey-dovey” songs when my own views of love is a bit blurred at the moment, but hey anything that helps is brilliant in my book! We’re almost finished, “Sublime” is very good, however I don’t like it as much as I thought I would. It’s a bit boring to me and I don’t know why at the moment. I might change my mind later, but right now just not feeling it which sucks! The last song is called, “The Last Word” which I found odd but interesting at the same time! I like how albums sometimes start in one direction and finish in the same way, whether it’s the music or subject of the song. This is a very soft and beautiful ballad.

I am very surprised with this album! It’s an awesome way to start off hopefully long music career for Frances! If I ever get a new stereo, I would definitely purchase this album because I think it’s one of those albums that it’s worth buying the whole thing and not like four singles! I’d rate it nine out of ten, mostly because of my thoughts on “Sublime” but like I said, that could change later on, so it is a good ten!

Have you listened to Frances’ album “Things I’ve Never Said” yet? Which songs do you like so far?

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

