Getting A New Camera!

Hello!

So recently I’ve had to get myself a new camera because my pink one decide to stop working on me one morning. It had been acting a bit strange for a while; whenever I would go to turn it on it would just stay black, it wasn’t until I would basically bang it on the ground (I don’t really recommend doing that) for it to actually start working again! I’d say after two months, it finally crapped out on me.

I can’t say I was really mad about it though. It was originally my sister’s camera from around 2008, so technically it’s pretty old! She and I got cameras roughly around the same time and I just so happened to break mine within 5 months after getting it as a birthday present.

I was trying to get a picture with a couple of school friends after the graduation ceremony was over and as it was being placed to another person to snap the picture for us, it just fell out of their hands and onto the sidewalk. It just shattered into a million pieces. It was my first camera and I was shocked and more upset that it broke then I was never getting a picture with the school friend! My parents sort of never trusted me with a camera ever again. Now you know the reason why whenever I go places and I say, “my mom took this” because she doesn’t want me to drop it and we have to replace it. However, as much as I understand her belief and as a reminder I’m not the one who dropped the other one and I don’t believe it was even on purpose either!

Blondie used her camera off and on throughout her years in school. Before she left to go to college though, she gave it to me and I didn’t use it much in 2015 mostly because I didn’t think I would be able to do anything with it because of my feet! After Facebook and Twitter changed their settings for mobile phones, my little camera on my flip phone wasn’t able to send pictures anymore. So I had to get out Blondie’s camera and try it out, somehow it worked out really well and became one of my favorite accessories!

It’s been a good little camera for me and was very much a learning experience on how much I can control as far as holding a camera in between my feet. I’m just really glad my feet are learning the definition of “teamwork” after successfully holding a camera for almost 2 years!

The day it stopped working, I was going to my nana’s so I brought along the SD card of the last roll of photos of our cats that I took in mid-February. She uploaded them for me and I began my hunt for my next camera! I didn’t want to buy anything really fancy or expensive. For one, that’s not my style and considering I do have a history of dropping cameras from my height in both wheelchairs, I need something that wouldn’t be such a hassle to fix either!

Since my future brother-in-law works in the electronic department at Wal-Mart, I asked him if there any cameras under $60 because that’s all I had in my purse. He replied back with just a brand: Polaroid. The first thing that popped into my head were those cute, vintage-like Polaroid cameras that were like the new trend! Once I went online though, I found the point and shoot cameras and they were pretty cheap and looked like like my previous camera too!

17264224_1416142815116711_4597228813361751361_n

Now I have a new camera! It’s a Polaroid iE826 in red and silver. Truth be told, I have no idea what anything means on it and I actually wanted this in white and I already found one and shown it to my mom and somehow she managed to get me through the others on the website and we found the red and silver! The reason why I was no against the red one was because my nana also has a red (and black) camera that is pretty much the same size and shape as this one! One day we’re going to leave somewhere and come home with a different camera!

First Impressions:

Well, first off it is wayyy too small! One bad thing that goes with a similar post I wrote about cell phones. The buttons are extremely tiny and very stubborn. The power button is probably the worst! Even my parents have issues with it! I do have problems with holding it, even with the wristband that is on the opposite ankle. They need to make these according to left and right dominant! I think that it would be a lot easier for some of us who prefer using these cameras so you don’t have a random ribbon in your shot. However, I’ve miscalculated where the legs of my tripod are and have a few pictures of one in the middle of my picture afterwards!

17190726_1412381452159514_668128977971139859_n

Unfortunately, yes because of the width of the camera, I’ve had to use my little tripod, which if you think about it isn’t necessarily a “bad” thing because I felt like I’ve been neglecting it for the last few months. So the fact I’m using it full time (just to have a better grip of it in between my toes) makes my dad happy since he’s the one who found it for me! I am getting better at putting it on and off the tripod, it is easier to do it while in my wheelchair since I am higher and don’t have to strain my whole upper body when I screw it on!

One last negative is the screen. It tends to be very gritty and timid in different lighting. The flash hardly works and most of the time, the pictures are pretty dark even when it goes off. I’ve had to stop judging it after pressing the recall button because half the time they’re awful looking but then when we upload them they’re actually okay? They’re not as good and clear despite the amount of megapixels it offers!

Other than that though, it’s actually not all that bad! I know it’ll just take time to get used to everything and I’m usually good with change so the fact that I’ve had this many judgments about it is a little weird!

Here are some of my first and favorite snap shoots I took with my new camera!

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

