Dear Papaw

16386872_1369294216468238_3011290403958814650_n

I decided to write this post earlier because I figured as the day got closer I wouldn’t be able to find the right words and I also used the Butler Bulldogs game against Xavier to help keep me focused on this too! 

Dear Papaw,

Today will be the one year anniversary of your death and I am sitting on the edge of my bed watching Butler going up against Xavier right now. I’ve watched so many basketball games in these past few months that I surprised I don’t know more of what’s going on within the actual game! I don’t exactly know who to throw the blame on because something tells me if you ever tried to teach me any basketball terms, I may not had been a willing participant! So this is my own fault!

I’ve been pretty proud the team though. They’ve kicked Villanova’s ass, who is #1 in the Big East conference (is that right?), twice this season. Once in November and the other this past month. I remember because I watched both, the first game was the one I watched for the very first time since you’ve been gone, which mom and dad seemed to think was cute! However, I cannot wear my actual Butler shirts on the days they play because in the last two games, they’ve lost, so no more of that until the season is over.

I hope you don’t mind, but I’ve turned your cabinet in the kitchen into my little storage area. Nana and I are only using one section, so don’t worry! I read your Smithsonian magazines and we store them in there! Your railroad magazines go into your bookshelves. I’ve also been using your room a bit too! The next time David comes down, nana’s going to get him (or Laurie) to put the typewriter into your room by the vent for my project.

You wouldn’t want to see your room, it’s a mess! However, if you were to compare yours up against mine, I’m pretty sure we’d be even! You can still see the green carpet and walk through without having that much of a difficulty! Other than that, it has a LOT of stuff around, but everything has a reason to be in there. Nana cleaned the “organ” desk and I arranged most of your family’s books  into the bottom area. I have never felt more like Superman than at that moment! You would have grabbed every single book off of my shin and put into that section yourself if you saw how far out I was sitting on my seat!

If you think your bed got a little bit smaller, it sort of did. Emily and Brandon’s “puppy” Chipper peed on it and Emily, Brandon, and mom took the mattress outside and I think mom washed your IU blanket that evening. Everything’s good now, except for the fact you’re missing a mattress!

You would love Chipper! I think you would be kind of scared of him, but don’t worry I have daydreams of the dog running up on me and basically colliding into me on accident and I end up in the ER with a dislocated shoulder or something, because he’s not small like ChiChi. Oh, no! Chipper is a pit bull, like Chancey and I’m betting you’d treat him just like you did with both Casey and Chance! Why did we name all of our animals in a “C” by the way? That’s like a question, you can ask your relatives up there, why is there a lot of “E” and “L” names in the family?

We’re at nine minutes into the game and Xavier is kicking our butts! It’s not by much though, so we could still take this!

I wanted to tell you that I think you’ve been recraninated into a hawk or maybe a buzzard, anything that soars over my head, confuses me now! Anyways, the day you passed when we went to the hospital and drove back home, I saw over 30 hawks in different places; whether they were flying around or sitting in trees or lamp posts, they were around. As most of the family was thinking you had something to do with the weather, which makes sense since you liked to shake the mini snow globe in the kitchen on the days that mom had to go to work the next day, we drove in both sunshine and snow flurries! I went another route, I thought since you always saw a hawk on the way to the hospital and back home when I was about to be born. I thought you had turned into a hawk.

You now have a hawk like across the street, it has a nice, big nest in the tree next to the house with that fenced-in area where those dogs used to live and bark like they didn’t have a care in the world! I saw it one afternoon and I had mom take pictures of it!

untitled

I don’t where you are, you might be up in heaven or you’ve turned into a hawk. Who knows, but you know half of your family is a comedian so you know this was coming one way or another! I can’t do nothing else, but this for you. You’d rather hear about the happy times and how well Butler is playing than anything else anyways! Oh, and the reason why I haven’t discussed any of the IU games is because, I haven’t seen a single game, except for that one but that was on accident. Mom sat on the remote and she found it and that score, if I remember correctly wasn’t pretty by any means! We’re all in agreement that you were a big party in heaven when the IU coach was fired last week!

Kelan Martin just put a three pointer in the last few seconds of the first half! Hopefully, they’ll continue to do good as the second half starts.

Okay, I’m going to end this here. I think I’ve said a lot the what, twenty minutes? You know me well enough, that in of itself is a lot, even for me! I hope you continue to watch over us, but not haunt us! You can visit in our dreams, but don’t scare the crap out of us, like you were known to do here! I don’t know if I can handle another one of those types of dreams again!

I love you lots!

Meg-HAN! Your “cool” granddaughter 😀

Written on February 26, 2017 – Butler won against Xavier (89-77)  and completed on March 19, 2017! 

Leave a Reply

