The Pros & Cons Of Updating Your Phone When You’re Disabled

100_6444

I wrote this post for Bloggeration Magazine’s March piece last year but somehow it never made it out of the drafts. So I thought I’d let it out for you today! Hope you enjoy!

It seems like everybody has smartphone nowadays. They are the ideal device for the working and everybody over the age of sixteen. I actually remember the timeline of the cell phones from the late 90’s through the mid-00’s to right now. They came in different sizes and shapes. Some were simple to conceal away and then there were a few that looked too stupid to purchase – the sad part is everybody has had a mixture of both kinds at some point in their lives!

When it comes to somebody like me, having to do things with my feet, finding the right phone can be a very complicated process because you don’t really know what’ll work for you until you try it out, but unfortunately you can’t exactly try out a cell phone for 30 days. Well, I don’t know can you really try out a phone for a number of days?

I’ve only had two cell phones in my whole life. In the past, we found ways to use the house phone on my own. I had to lie on my side with the phone on the pillow and we’ve also used little headsets and I absolutely hated it because that was not how you held a telephone! However tons of people use Bluetooth now while riding and/or driving in the car. I think this was the reason why I wanted to learn how to text so badly because that’s what everybody did. It was the next source of communication.

I still use a flip phone. It’s funny to explain to people about what kind of phone I have and why they usually get a text message to ask to stop sending messages with the emojis because the words will literally disappear and they will be made into little boxes! I have a hard time explaining to people, even family members, why I’ll probably never get a “better” phone. So I’ve decided to give you guys a little pro and con post.

PROS:

  • Beautiful photography
  • Having all of the social media accounts in one place (Spotify, Twitter, and Instagram)
  • Never having to “write” out each note like future blog posts
  • Never missing a blog chat on Twitter
  • Play Bubble Shooter in the middle of the night on my bed
  • Never having to flip it open to read a message – this gets annoying at night!

CONS:

  • Having to sit up constantly, especially at night to read a text
  • Too big to hold with one foot or both
  • Toes are too big to touch the right keys
  • Can’t hold and click the button to take a picture
  • Slower at typing than on my laptop

As I was thinking of my personal pros and cons of this situation. I was really curious on what other people thought about a previous phone they’ve had in comparison to their newest whether it’s an iPhone or Android. I actually got a lot of good feedback on the subject.

A family friend of mine, Tracy says her phone is a tiny computer in her pocket. She even said it can start her car!! Sammy said it’s faster but admits that since you can do so much on it that everybody spends too much time on them. Despite the fact that everybody was talking about the good their smartphones can bring, I actually had some people give me some pros for the older flip phones too! Russell said they got better signal and the battery lasts forever–which is very true! I can use my phone longer than my iPod in a month! Brittany said it was less likely you could butt dial anyone with a flip phone than these newer phones unless you didn’t have a code lock to open it.

I wanted to continue to get different opinions, but I think in a way what I generally needed were comments from other people with disabilities and luckily for me I can do just that by asking the members of the Arthrogryposis group I belong to on Facebook. I had a few people give me their insight. One person said she mainly uses her tablet instead. She said that has to use a mouth stick, but she can easily text with it! A fellow friend of mine, Rhianna, says she can lay on her bed and text with her nose (I’ve seen one person text with their tongue and chin!) and uses her voice to navigate through her phone. Another person described how she uses this feature to take pictures, all she has to do is say the word “cheese” and her phone will automatically take it for her!

Technology as a whole, moves faster than the general person. When a creator builds these different devices, they are looking for ways make things easier so that’s why they’ve moved on to touch screens and being voice activated. I don’t think these things are all bad, I think it’s pretty cool on what people manage to make things easier to use, however I also feel for people like me are forgotten about too. We can’t use certain electronics. The iPod I have right now is a Nano and the screen is smaller in width than my big toe which is what I use to move through the different songs and playlists. I can still use it but opening it that Christmas made me feel very uncomfortable because I did not think it would work out very well. If it came with a mini camera I swear I’d probably love it a little bit more than I do right now!

So what do you think, should I go ahead and update my phone or just leave it be?

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

11 thoughts on “The Pros & Cons Of Updating Your Phone When You’re Disabled

  1. Meghan this is a great post, and a really important one too! I definitely take for granted the ease with which I can use certain tech and I definitely agree that there needs to be more consideration for those with disabilities and improving tech for others who can’t access them as easily as able bodied people can, so it was really interesting to read about your experiences and thoughts on this too. I’m hopeful that with all of our adaptations and advances in tech that voices like yours will be heard as we improve and that more is done to improve certain devices. Really interesting post! – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I hope so too, and in the meantime posts like yours are just the thing that’s needed in order to get your voice out there so don’t stop sharing ones like these! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is a tough situation in general, because since you can’t possibly try it out beforehand – I mean, this would help me out with everything in the electronic department. I can’t get my feet and toes to push or grip a lot of things so I feel it would be more useful to have things like that.

      Like

  2. So interesting to hear this side! I think you should definitely be able to upgrade to the newer models but it would be so frustrating that your toes are too big to use it! Maybe an ipad can be reformatted as a phone since it’s bigger? Hope you’re off to a good week! 🙂

    Chelsea
    Chow Down USA
    Instagram

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It frustrates me that so much of society (including phone creators) don’t factor disabled people into the equation. We may not be the majority but we are still a very important part of the population who deserves to be able to have access to all of the technology a phone brings. I have use of my hands so I’m able to use a smart phone but that being said, I still say keep your old phone 🙂 It is cool that smartphones can do so much but I honestly miss the days when we all just had flip phones that we only used to call and text people. Heck, sometimes I miss the days of just having a landline when you actually had to know your friend’s number to call them. Anyway I think you’ve shed light on a really important issue so many people with disabilities face so totally agree with all of the commenters, a great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Getting A New Camera! – Got Meghan's Blog

Leave a Reply

