Album Review: “Lost In Forever” by Beyond The Black

16002969_689213027905295_3522525656928150128_nToday I have a new album review for you! I think I can say that is my first music review of 2017 since I technically I wrote my other in December, it just went up in January! Anyways, I will be discussing a German symphonic/power metal band called Beyond The Black.

The band is made of six members: Kai Tschierchky on drums, Jonas Roßner on keyboards, Tobias Lodes on guitar, Chris Hermsdörfer who is also on guitar, Stefan Herkenhoff plays the bass and Jennifer Haben is the main vocalist.

I’m really excited that I finally get to write and even listen to the new album! I’ve been hearing the title track for the past year or so, because for a while the album itself wasn’t on Spotify when it been released the first time back in early 2016, but now the entire album is out worldwide and hopefully it’ll stay up there!

So let’s start talking about it. If you guys and gals know me well enough, you know how much I love long, mysterious, but yet powerful intros and I’ll be honest, there’s nothing better than the first song you hear off a brand new has a slow, creepy beginning; especially if it’s in the metal genre! “Lost In Forever” is beautiful! It’s very melodic and epic. It seriously makes me very happy while playing it and I’m just now figuring the words to it so I love singing along to Jennifer’s voice! I just can’t do the harsh screaming yet – I can do low growls but that’s about it. The second track is “Beautiful Lies” and when I first heard it, I didn’t think I’d like it as much but as it kept going, I slowly changed my mind. I think it was because of the slowness of it. I love the fact that it has a power metal feel to it that Masterplan’s Rick Altzi voice brings as he sings with Jennifer. It’s definitely one of my favorites so far!

Third we have “Written In Blood” and again, we have another ominous introduction. A slow beginning that just grows into a faster tempo. It’s not as much of a banger as I’d hope but that doesn’t mean I think it sucks. It’s still pretty good, but I’m just not really feeling it right now. Next is “Against The World” and you get a nice acoustic start that is actually gorgeous! I think you would consider this a ballad, because it doesn’t build necessarily build into a heavy song. It’s a nice and slow. These types of songs are certainly growing one me! I also love the crap out of the guitar solo too! I’m not much of a solo lover (I like drum solos more!) but I still like it a lot! And then we have “Beyond The Mirror” which has one of the best instruments taking command, the fiddle, I didn’t have to hear the rest of the song, that pretty much sold me, but in all fairness, it is a really good song beyond those parts you can clearly hear it.

What do we have next? There’s “Halo Of The Dark” and this has another slow beginning, but then it grows to an epic, symphonic metal track. What surprises me is that this is the third favorite of the album! I just based it off of the introduction though, that’s what did me in! Next we have “Dies Irae” and this is a full symphonic metal song. I want to say it almost rivals the first track, but I think this may be a little better! I’ve learned in the last six years that it’s really hard to pick favorites in the symphonic rock/metal world! Eighth track is another favorite of mine, but like with the second song it is called “Forget My Name” as much as it has a good symphonic edge, it has more of a power metal feel to it, but it’s still really good though! I really like the duel voices between the clean and harsh vocals in the choruses, it didn’t need it but it’s a good addition!

The next track is called “Burning In Flames” I’m actually glad that this one sounds more like a rock-y. If you’re new to the genre symphonic metal, this could be a good song to use to get a feel of it as it’s not obnoxious by any means. It’s fairly tame, despite having the harsh growls and singing in it, but again, I love it! I mostly the choruses and I cannot even begin to tell you why that is, I just do! It sounds interesting. I always love it when bands have a song like “forevermore” or in this case “Nevermore” because it sounds almost fantasy-like, which was my main attraction to this genre as a whole, because it has the power to get you out of your head and into a new world. It’s not a favorite yet, but it’ll get there soon!

I’ve decided to only review the standard edition of the album. So if you start to wonder why Spotify has 17 songs and I’ve stopped at track 13, this is why! To start out the last three songs of the album, we have “Shine and Shade” that definitely has a power metal side to it, but has a choir included in the beginning. Unfortunately, I don’t really like it and it sort has me stumped because it has everything I go for, but I still can’t connect with it. The next song is “Heaven In Hell” that has a male choir starting it out. This is just a badass track! It’s heavy and full of pure metal; what more could you want? And lastly we have “Love’s A Burden” and this is another beautiful song. It is a ballad and I love how an album can start on a big note and then have a somber end. This is my last favorite of the album.

So overall, the album was fantastic! It is so nice to talk and hear new symphonic metal music again. Especially bands that have a mature sound too! I see a lot of bands that consider themselves “symphonic” but yet they clearly sound more electronic or alternative instead. I would give this a nice nine out of ten, which seems really fair considering the couple of songs I didn’t necessarily care for, but if you know me at all, I never “hate” anything. I’ll usually cave after a while!

Have you listened to Beyond The Black’s album “Lost In Forever” yet? What are your favorite tracks? 

Leave a Reply

