Best & Worst In Film | 2015-16

14962608_1274238885973772_4852505311738834901_n

Howdy!

I hope you are not tired about me discussing movies with you guys! I sort of wanted to do this post last month but I just wasn’t happy with it so I trashed it. I was talking to my fellow blogger Shona and she had mentioned on Twitter, that she was going to list the movies she watched in 2016  so, she kind of talked me back into publishing this post! If you’re just as much as a movie junkie, you should check out her post too!

It is actually a lot harder to talk about all of the movies I watched in 2016 without including the ones that came out in 2015 that I had seen at the same time! I think that list was larger – I watched a total of 25 films while I only had 11 that were released in 2016! I didn’t just have a good year of movies, I also watched different documentaries starting from Living With Lincoln and Packed In a Trunk to Finding Vivian Maier. They were all very educational and inspiring!

To make things easier on myself, the draft of how I originally wanted to write this post wasn’t deleted yet so I used it as a guide as I even included how I wanted to rate them! Sometimes I can be very clever like that! I also have divided them up into groups so it would be easier to read!

My love/hate relationship with drama films!

If anybody knows me well enough, I am purely an action based kind of girl so to watch nine films in the drama category is just crazy! Of course, we have to talk about the four films that I loved wholeheartedly and they were The Danish Girl, Woman In Gold, Brooklyn, and The Age Of Adaline. These made me feel so many emotions while I silently watched them. I still think about these films on a weekly basis!

Let’s talk the surprises of the bunch!

I’ve one to be very picky about the movies I want to see and I’ll explain that in a minute, but I had three films that weren’t on my list at first but I kind of fell in love with them after I saw them. They were Criminal, The Last Witch Hunter, Ricki and the Flash, Suicide Squad, and Fantastic Four. These were all action/adventure, (except for the one drama film) which as I said I love, but I didn’t think I would enjoy them! Criminal was a film that I hadn’t heard about and it came out last January I think, but I’m not a fan of Kevin Costner either so that might’ve been why; whereas with Fantastic Four there was a lot of chatter about it, mostly because it’s a reboot of the movies that came out in 2005 and 2007. A lot of people didn’t like it, and I have a theory of why; the way it was presented, it basically gave you a lot more background information and the action-y scenes were so short. I actually gave this a 5/10 rating in my first post but it’s a close six now!

It gave me chills!

I don’t know about you, but I love watching movies while lying in bed or on the couch with a blanket. When you watch as many movies as I do, a blanket is something that keeps me relaxed so I don’t tense up my back throughout watching it. However, the one bad thing about having a blanket on top of you while watching an action film is that you can hot,very quickly. At least I do whenever I watch one!

However, getting the chills afterwards can be the good thing! The films that about killed me (in a good way) were Triple 9, London Has Fallen, Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice, Captain America: Civil War, Avengers: Age Of Ultron, Furious 7, Insurgent, Hitmam: Agent 47, X-Men: Apocalypse and Mockingjay Part 2. That’s a nice list in general, isn’t it? All were good in their own ways! I can’t say anything else about them!

Out of ten, you are under five!

Can we all agree that cringing throughout a film is considered a bad thing?

I could be honest and discuss the three films that were under the five rating on my first post, but I can’t. There’s only one that just sucked and I wish I hadn’t watched it. I’ll explain a little bit, back in 2014 a film called Pompeii  and it wasn’t included in the post I had made up of movies I wanted to see that year, because I thought I would hate it.

I honestly can’t watch any type of film that has some historical references in it. That’s why there are a lot of classics like Braveheart and Troy that I cannot get myself to watch no matter how hard my dad tries!

When I watched Pompeii though, I don’t know what happened. I ended up loving the crap out of it. I was more worried about if the characters would get the chance to escape the eruption and I think that’s why I sort of ignored it at first because the main character always gets away and the girl and they live happily ever after. The fact that my expectations were wrong made me happy! It’s turned into one of my top five favorite films ever!

Not all movies can get so lucky though, when a family friend brought down Gods Of Egypt after it was released on DVD, I was still pretty hesitant about watching it at all. I didn’t include it in the coming soon post I put up last January, but I still wanted to give it a shot because I thought it would surprise me like Pompeii did just two years before. I was wrong – it was awful! Well, if you’re only looking at the action sequences it’s not that bad, but since I’m like this big Ancient Egypt fan since I was like 8 years old. I’ve seen about every special on both History and Smithsonian channels plus read so many books and magazines articles about the mummification process, their afterlife, and Pharaohs! If you need any information about anything in those categories, I’m your go-to girl!

So when I watched this, I remembered the angst I felt while watching the Tut special on Spike that premiered like two years prior! Whoever thought of putting Gerard Butler as an Egyptian God was a completely idiot! The whole cast about pissed me off! You have Danish actor Nikolaj Coster-Waldau playing the God Horus?!?! Oh my god! Sorry, can’t do it anymore!

What do you think were the best and/or worse movies that came out in 2016? Or 2015?

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Best & Worst In Film | 2015-16

  1. I’ve been hesitant about Gods of Egypt too. I was unsettled about the casting, while I think both Gerard Butler and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau have both done some brilliant films and been great in them, I thought casting them as two Egyptian Gods was the wrong move. I really would have liked to have seen some more unknown Egyptian, Arabic or Middle Eastern actors in the role, as it would have fit so much more and been more true to the legends themselves – as like you, I love anything to do with Egypt and the Ancient Egyptians, so I was a bit disappointed. I just watched Dawn of Justice yesterday and thought it was brilliant, I generally tend to prefer the Marvel films and series, but recently DC have been doing a great job of bringing their characters to life, and I loved the film! Avengers was also brilliant, and I still need to see The Danish Girl! Great post. – Tasha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES!! You’re a Marvel girl! We’re gonna get along just fine! 🙂

      Now about Gerard Bulter and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau. You are right, they have had some great roles. I’m still on the fence of Gerard in 300 but that’s me. I just think he has a cape problem! Almost in every high action based film he’s been in (so far I’ve counted 4) he is wearing some sort of a cape! Lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

