DIY: Painting A Mason Jar!

100_6595

Howdy folks!

So today I’m here with the second post about the mason jars that my nana and I previous used for the cake in the mugs last week! I separated them so it didn’t look too chaotic in the week!

We somehow did this backwards, I think our original plan was to decorate the jars first so they would look cute with the mixture inside, but like always we didn’t do it that way!

I don’t know what exactly to explain first because my nana and I have never painted a mason jar before so this was a new one to us! She also had quite a few different paints too! She had oil paints, glittery paints in bottles that you can squeeze and regular watercolors. I originally wanted to use the oil paints but when she explained that you couldn’t use water with it, I kind of backed out of it. I figured I would make a mistake on mine and wouldn’t have a way to fix it so I used the watercolors instead, not knowing if they’ll work any better!

Let me say this was the first time in a very long time where I enjoyed painting. I hated whenever we had to paint in art at school, absolutely dreaded it! Drawing was my forte. My nana had a lot of paints for two reasons: we like to do different crafts but she also had us do little crafts as kids too! I don’t remember if I hated painting as much as I did at school, probably, but not as much as baking a cake! I forgot to mention that in last week’s post! I only remember baking a pineapple upside down cake with my sister and hated it because of how much I couldn’t do. I think I’ve redeemed myself since then and that’s why I was okay with trying painting again.

In ways, I felt I was back in art class where it was quiet and I was very quiet, concentrating on covering every surface of the jar in blue and green.

I used a fold up chair that my nana tends to keep in the kitchen. It’s at a height that I can reach while sitting in my push wheelchair. We also decided to leave the paints and dish of water on the floor because there was not a lot of room with both the aluminium foil and the jar sitting above it. I started to use a skinny brush at first for the blue because I figured if it didn’t work she wouldn’t have to clean a bigger brush instead and not saying a BIG brush either. It’s small but the actual bristles space is larger so you can have more paint on it and cover more area. Of course, it wasn’t until I was almost finished with it that I started to use it! You need more water in the paint so it will show up as you paint it on the sides of the jar. The darker colors show up better, I didn’t necessarily try out the orange, yellow and pink but I honestly don’t think you’ll be a good enough shade to appear on it. I’ll try it out and see how it does next time!

She used the glittery paints as I mentioned in the beginning as she has a better time (or usually) squeezing the paint out than I do. We used these for our pumpkins a couple of years ago, it usually turns out pretty well! She mostly went around the design of the actual jars. She used both gold and silver paints. I like these a little more than her purple one that she mainly used regular Elmer’s glue and purple glitter that you sprinkle out of a little cup. Afterwards she had glow-y legs and socks! I’d say leave them out for an hour with a napkin underneath it in case any paint dribbles down to the bottom, I left mine on her counter overnight. When we do another cake mix, I’ll take home that decorated jar that I sort of have called “the ombre jar” because the colors just intertwine with each other!

Have you ever painted a mason jar before? If so, what did you use? 

100_6622100_6575100_6668100_6669100_6670100_6674100_6682

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “DIY: Painting A Mason Jar!

Leave a Reply

