Life Lately | Reflecting 5 Years

100_6439

Hey guys!

So here we are again. We’ve hit another milestone for not only myself but my wonderful blog too! Technically we’ll hit two of them! Not only does this little blog turn 5 today, but soon it’ll have 100,000 views too!

I’ve read quite a few blog posts talking about how blogging has changed over the years.  People are not doing it for fun anymore. They are more concerned with the freebies and becoming an overnight success.

That’s another thing that I tend to repeat every year while writing these posts, is that not all bloggers or YouTubers become overnight successors. I think it’s pure luck. Zoe, Victoria, and Niomi are lucky that they can have a successful blog and YouTube channel. If you notice, Zoe doesn’t usually blog and/or vlog different things. She films videos of different things and then includes everything she’s discussed inside a blog post. I’ve also seen a lot of people go back and forth, they’ll abandon a certain area for a while and then back to it months later. Not saying they all do that or that its bad. I’m afraid if I start vlogging, I’ll like the filming and editing process of it I’ll just forget my blog in general and I don’t want to do that.

So I’m not saying I’ll never create a YouTube channel but not right now!

As far as opportunities go, we have to start with what came first and that was co-hosting the #USBloggerChat on Twitter with a great group of girls. I’ve gotten to the point where I love how both The Vampire Diaries and The Originals switched to Fridays so I could have that night to host without having to worry about missing anything! This was least scary for me, mostly because I think the US bloggers are pretty quiet. I have a tough time finding anybody outside of the UK and Australia! Ever since hosting this chat though, I’ve talked to my fair share of East Coasters than anybody from Cali, no offense Rebekah or Ayre! I really enjoy the mix of people and the themes we try to talk about every week.

In all honesty, it took me three or four years to be able to consider writing for other people and another year to consider writing for a digital magazines! I started doing guest posting on other blogs and that was fun for me! I had only done two of them before I was asked to write for Disability Horizons and eventually Bloggeration Magazine. I’ve always said “no” to writing for a magazine of any kind in my head but I felt ready and I think it was because I wouldn’t get paid for these pieces that I felt more comfortable with taking that chance.

I still don’t consider myself a success story though.

I don’t think I ever will because giving yourself that sort of title sounds like you’re dying or something like that. I don’t want to give this up while I’m at my peak as some people would probably think but I also think to myself on days when my laptop restarts by itself or the internet completely shuts down at a really bad time “why did I have to create this life online?” And then I have to remember the old days of writing inside my notebooks at school and thinking of the redness where a pen or pencil had been in between my toes for a while as I wrote out notes or an essay, funny enough if I ever did things that way it was my own fault. I wanted to do it that way!

I have a lesson for a writer of any kind – whether you write poetry in your journal late at night or studying journalism and have a crazy with beauty products or fashion and you want to create a blog. Two things: don’t expect a miracle and I highly recommend never reading an advice post on how to write a blog post. You just do what you think is good enough and let everything go from there! Use hashtags and find similar RT accounts on Twitter to help promote the posts! That’s my only advice for now!

Thank you guys so much for reading this blog for the five years! See you back in October for another milestone post! As my blog celebrates its fifth year, I’ve been blogging for 7 years! 🙂

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

