Album Review: “Hell’s Kitchen Angel” by MAX

papLast week I went through the newly released music and I thought would just be a song, didn’t think it would be more. An hour later I went back on this month’s playlist to see that I had added about nine more songs than just that one. So that’s how I found out that the artist MAX had finally released his album!

Let’s start it off with the title track “Hell’s Kitchen Angel” and I have to say I really like these jazzy-pop songs he puts out, they’re refreshing and makes you want to move. That’s how I technically got interested with him after he released his track “Puppeteer” (on the EP They Say Max in 2014) it had the same flare and I always had trouble not dancing to it! It also gave me a lot of old school vibes while listening to it and this song is doing the same! So good! The next track is the second reason why I’ve become addicted to Max. “Gibberish” it features rapper Hoodie Allen and what really gets me is that there’s really nothing to the actual beat that makes it stand out until the chorus comes on and you hear the bass. It’s now on my top songs of all time!

Third is called “Wrong” and I really like this. The beat is heavier and bass-y all throughout the damn thing! Can I just say Max has a sexy voice? Yikes! I don’t like a lot of falsetto voices but like the song says “it’s better when it feels wrong” and this track features another rapper by the name of Lil Uzi Vert and usually I don’t like when rappers have their own part in songs, this counted for “Gibberish” too but as I listened to it, the more I liked it. This next song was featured in either last month’s or February’s playlist and everytime I go on Spotify, I hit play on it. I’m seriously addicted to it. I sing to it more than I dance, don’t know whether that’s a good thing or not. The song is called “Holla” in case you were wondering. The next is much slower – finally a ballad! This is “Lights Down Low” and you first hear an acoustic guitar and some fingers snapping slowly. By the time chorus starts the whole track grows into a more upliftty beat. It’s very pretty!

This next song doesn’t necessarily sound like him, in parts I thought it was Justin Bieber’s voice, but as it progresses you hear that it’s definitely Max. This also sounds it would be a good as a commercial or promo for the fashion show in December. Mark my words it might be in next show! Anyways, it’s called “10 Victoria’s Secret Models” and it sounds interesting, very party worthy but has these champagne bubbles or effervescence sounds in the intro and throughout the chorus. It’s good, I like it! Seventh song is called “Home” and it has an upbeat sound, but it’s very sexy and slow. Surprisingly, I don’t like it. The beat makes it weird. I don’t know how to explain it. The one after that has a totally different vibe, you can hear some conga drums and makes me think of old salsa music mixed in with a modern beat, it’s cool! This is called “Mug Shot” and it features Sirah. I haven’t heard her in very a long time, glad to hear her again on a song!

The last two songs of the album starts with the newly released single, “Basement Party” and this one is very chill, which in a way didn’t really surprise me. If you’re going to have a basement party, I kind of want something that has a house vibe, this one doesn’t go in that direction, it has that classic pop sound. It’s not like the previous songs he’s released lately but it’s not bad! The next is “Lost My Way” which anytime you see this kind of title you automatically think it’s going to be really slow, like a regular ballad but this wasn’t. Despite Max’s voice going up and down in frequencies, it even has its bass-y areas! It’s really not that bad either!

I think if anybody likes pop music, especially male singers, you’ll like this album it’s a decent album, but not the best I’ve heard lately. Sorry! I’d still give it a 7/10 which really isn’t that bad! It’s a fair score honestly!

Have you heard of MAX’s music lately? What do you think of “Hell’s Kitchen Angel?” What do you like or not like about it?

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

