#FWF – Focus On The Good

fwf2016I originally had two ideas for the prompt that popped into my head: photography and singing. It came to me after I realized I had already used a good batch of spring-y photography for today’s post. So I have go with singing for today!

I’ve only had two separate years of choir while I was in school. I did want to try out of Swing Choir when I was a freshman but I was basically talked out of that by a number of people. I liked choir mainly because our director was a great teacher but I’ve always loved the sound of choirs. Which I rediscovered while I was doing Blogmas last year, when I watched Home Alone and he goes into the church and the children’s choir are in there singing so beautifully; I remembered that’s how I fell in love with choir in the first place!

I didn’t start singing until after I had my back surgeries. I’d say it was like a year later that I really started to sing because I finally could! Before, my spine was basically crushing my right lung and all throughout my childhood I had a hump and I couldn’t inhale big enough to hold out long notes or go louder. Different programs from my childhood are playing in my head as I sit here think about it! By the time I was actually singing well enough I was in middle school were we no longer had grandparent’s day programs anymore! So when I was allowed to be in choir I was very happy because then I’d be able to improve things!

What I find interesting is that I don’t think we were taught like the ones in Swing Choir, quite a few of them had to take voice lessons and were probably given excerises to improve their breathing and how to reach those harder notes with ease – who knows! I didn’t think I was given ways to reach certain notes or either I did I just didn’t care! All I remember was in 2013 I really started to find different songs that challenge me. I started listening to Katherine Jenkins and Sarah Brightman and I really loved how they could just shoot up high and make that note last. At that time I was also listening to bands like Within Temptation, Nightwish, and Xandria who had singers that were trained in classical/opera music. So they became great influences for me and I really started to train my voice in their light I guess.

And then somehow when I finally reached those high notes that I had longed for I stopped training myself and sort of lost my magic! I’ve been trying to find ways to bring it back, so I’ve been using different types of music and songs to hopefully coax it out of me again! That’s one of the reasons why I’ve been listening to a lot of Celtic Woman lately! I finally learned a song that the Swing Choir used to sing all the time called “You Raise Me Up” and I was so happy but I am so hard on myself when I have an imperfect moment that I just stop singing altogether! Sometimes when that happens I start the song over and try it again. I’m presistant like that!

It’ll be six years in May that I’ve been on a stage. If I was given a chance I would like to redeem myself after my first solo performance. I would like to do a song that I really knew by heart and felt comfortable performing, but my luck I would get sick like the last time! One thing that does bother me, as much as I would take a chance at being on stage again I would be worried that nobody would care about the actual performance of the song and pay more attention to the fact that a girl in a wheelchair is singing the song. That’s the other factor that always seems to push it out of my mind. I think I would still do it though!

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “#FWF – Focus On The Good

  1. randommusings29

    I love You Raise Me Up and I admire anyone who can sing that well! Don’t let other people’s prejudices stop you following your dream!
    Thanks for linking up to #AnythingGoes
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You sound like you would get on swimmingly with my best friend! She’s in a choir, and also loves all the bands you listed! 🙂
    I absolutely love you raise me up, it’s just such a beautiful song!
    Go for it girl! Don’t let anything hold you back!
    I would love to follow you on Twitter! My handle Is: http://www.Twitter.com/@SassyPant6
    Great positive post! #AnythingGoes

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

