Bumping Into Strange Boys

156da5333408f378df2ca556538c5515

It’s hard to say how this started…

I was in this hipster looking little diner, minding my business with a couple of my friends. We were eating the Americana type of food. The type that you’ll have to do about 100 pull ups and squats afterwards. The taste of the cheese burgers and fries would make it seem worth it though!

We were only there for about a half hour, which seemed longer to me. Maybe it only seemed longer because the conversations between my friends and I weren’t very stimulus. They were too busy talking about the attractions like the lush park we just came back from visiting and where they had planned on going to next. As much as I was having fun with my girls and getting away from our normal lives. My mind was elsewhere.

We all had finished with our food when this group of guys came strolling in, full of energy and laughs! They were so loud that I was glad that they decided to come around when we were just about to leave the place. As soon as I started grabbing my coat off my chair, I was startled by one of their sneakers. I am very sensitive to hearing certain sounds, and this squeak was loud inside my head! I dropped my jacket and when I went to pick it up off the checkered floor another set of hands grabbed it from the other side at the same time and as we stood up together, our eyes never losing contact with each other.

“Hi.” this fairly good looking man looked up and said to me.
“Hello.” I said back at him with a slight smile on my face.
“Are you okay? Do you need some help putting this on?” He said, pulling my coat away from my hand and attempting to put it over my shoulders.
“Oh, no! It’s okay. I’m not cold right now.” Obviously! “but thank you!” I said back to him.

This strange guy looked as though he had just found his whole world, but I’m far from ever being an angel. He looked cute with his baby face charm and piercing green eyes. I’m usually a blue eyes kind of girl too. He looked so young, but I couldn’t help feel attracted to him in a tiny way. He had me written all over him, he just didn’t know it yet—Oh snap out of it Catie!

“Well, do I get a name to a pretty face?” This voice appeared back into my conscious.
“Oh, sorry! Sometimes I just space out! My name is Catie.” I said in a panic, gosh, does he realize how I’ve been staring at him!
“It’s all right. My name is Devon.” He said, looking over at my friends who were now staring at me like I was part of the statue they were looking at in the park earlier. “Where are you ladies from?” He said and the rest of his posse circled around us.
“We’re from a small town.” Jessica said, trying not to reveal too much of ourselves to them.
“Okay, well that doesn’t really help! Where? Do you live outside of NYC?” One of his friends said trying to push the topic a little more.
“No, we live in Boston!” Tracy said in a shrieking voice. Jess and I took our focus off the hunks in front of us for a second and turned to look at Tracy. “Look, sorry about to break up your little love fest. but we gotta go! Come on girls!” She said while tugging onto Jessi’s left hand and pushing me with all her might away from Devon’s gaze. I couldn’t blame her, by that time I was already imagining what he looks like without his shirt on! Tracy was moving so fast that I braced myself with impact of the front door. Thankfully, there was a gentleman ready and willing to open it for three crazy, lovesick girls from Boston!

Once outside away from the group of boys, I grabbed my jacket off my shoulders and put it through my arms and got a whiff of musky scent that he had left behind. It definitely wasn’t the normal teenage cologne I’m used to smelling at my house full of pre-teen brothers, but it smelled of something much older! I cherished that smell for hours, walking in the cold air with my crazy friends. I was back to my old self, distracted by missed opportunities!

I was just in the mood to write something last night and this was the ending result of one of many prompts you can find on Pinterest! I ended a free write type of thing before the blog chat started! 

snowflake

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

