Christmas Cookies

0122

Hey guys!

Well, Christmas is over and it’s always sad, at least I thought it was sad that everytime you pump ourselves up for something and once it comes, it goes away as it never came at all.

My week leading up to Christmas wasn’t as exciting as I had expected it to be. There was a lot of bad energy around my family and a close family friend that it kind of brought everything to a halt. What was even more puzzling was that we were under a tornado watch on Wednesday. For us, having thunderstorms in November isn’t that bad, but this was odd even for us to hear thunder clashes outside the windows! I live in the Midwest and our “winter” is starting out like early autumn-like weather, having 55-60 degree temperatures and then on top of that the storms. What the crap?!?! However I don’t want to complain too much because I know how it’ll be from January to April!

Between our weather and family issues, my nana and I had to divide up doing our annual Christmas cookies in two days, they were supposed to be back-to-back but that didn’t happen! The week before I asked my blog friends what my nana and I could do about our sugar cookies. Last year, after we had baked them and everything, they got extreme hard and some of us had trouble chewing them. So thankfully I had some pretty good ladies giving us advice and instead of putting a timer on the oven we just kept an eye on them. However, the one time we go to do this of course, the dough doesn’t want to come out of the package for us. So we had roll them out in a ball and flatten, which at first made them look rustic and homemade and then they went into the oven and grew! Don’t believe me? Well, here ya go!

006

After we got like two packages cut and baked, my nana got pretty tired so we had to quit for the afternoon and I was okay with that. I came back on Christmas Eve and it was kind of weird in a way because I felt as though we were rushing! My mom had gotten us different food colors and sprinkles to decorate the cookies, I felt like a little kid. Since my nana decided to do our last DIY of the year by herself this was when my creative side decided to come out!

I’m the type of person who isn’t a big fan of frosting, and that goes with both cake and cookies! It’s just too much for me. My nana is the total opposite, she likes a lot of icing and she’ll literally pile it up on whatever she can, trust me! Sometimes she doesn’t even need cake or a cookie. You could clearly see a difference between each cookie on how much frosting was put on top of them! I also had to use my feet to work a spoon and butter knife to get the icing on top. Sometimes I just wish we didn’t have self-cautious people and I could just put my toes in it like finger paint (I did wash my feet before baking/decorating the cookies) it would be so much easier for me! I almost did it a couple of times I’m not going to lie! Once we had half of them finished and in the dish, I wanted a picture of them all stacked up together. Well, I guess my toes had frosting on the edges of them and I didn’t notice it quick enough and as I was taking the second picture the camera slipped right out of my toes into the pan making every cookie drop onto the floor… I almost started crying. I had to tell myself “it’s just spilled cookies. It’s just spilled cookies.” They were good though! We checked each one, don’t worry!

024

Thankfully by this time, my nana was finished eating her dinner because it was like 5:30pm, she took over the frosting part for me. I decided to do the sprinkles which to be perfectly honest is my favorite part. Now that you know I hate frosting, I like sprinkles more. It doesn’t bother me as much as the icing has in the past. I don’t know what’s wrong with me! Anyways, the star sprinkles were a big hit this year! We used the whole bottle. They were super cute! Once we were finished completely the lid was placed on top of the pan and we sat in our wheelchairs waiting for my mom to come pick me up.

Overall, it wasn’t that bad of an experience. This whole month went by too fast, so by the time we realized Christmas was here we couldn’t fit everything in at once! It wasn’t a bust though I mean we could have just said “screw it, buy some Oreos!” Just because there were a couple of slip ups doesn’t mean you should give up entirely. That’s why I decided to take over the sprinkles because I didn’t want to give up. My nana’s back was already giving her problems I needed to do something besides sit there and talk my head off, but as papaw was saying as a joke when we were sitting in the kitchen, “do you two have anything to say” because that’s all we ever do is talk our heads off. We can’t help it though!

004005009014016017018

3 thoughts on “Christmas Cookies

  1. Pingback: Last Minute “Blogmas” Ideas! – Got Meghan's Blog

Leave a Reply

