Song Review: “Shine On” by The Amity Affliction

I love The Amity Affliction so much! I found the band through Sirius XM Octane when they first started playing their song “Open Letter” and I was so hooked! They’re from Australia and I’ve talked about them a lot less than I probably should on here because these guys are really awesome! Every song that they release I like a lot! I saw the cover photo for this song first on Facebook before I even heard it and I instantly got really excited for it! I think it took me three days after it was out on Octane to finally hear it.

This song is called “Shine On” and it sounds a lot more mellower. It’s not a ballad, but yet it’s not as powerful in sound overall to be considered heavy either. I didn’t think I would like it as much because I do love their heavier songs more than any other band (and that’s saying something!) the harsh vocals do give it that edge, but in a way not enough to lose the feeling of it. In every almost every artist or band I’ve come across in the last six years, they have a signature sound. The Amity Affliction have one clear stable. There’s always a choir somewhere, usually it’s a children’s choir. There’s nothing wrong with it. I love it. It is always a great add-in during live shows.

So what do you think of The Amity Affliction? How do you like their new single?

4 thoughts on “Song Review: “Shine On” by The Amity Affliction

  1. This is the first time I’ve heard these guys! Thanks for the introduction! This is my kind of music! I love bands like this. Some of my favorite bands are Papa Roach, Pop Evil, Skillet, Shinedown, and Hollywood Undead. I love many, many more though. I write about them in my blog. I haven’t written a review in a month but I have a few and I write for a music site. My first article for that site was written on Bon Jovi and the next one coming out is on Papa Roach. This is a great song! I will have to download it on my iTunes when I get paid. Here is my review on Pop Evil: http://www.rockinrandommom.com/2015/09/10/pop-evil-music-review/ My next review is going to be on Shinedown, which I’m hoping to have done by the first week of December. This is my post on Bon Jovi: http://www.jinglejanglejungle.net/2015/10/guest-bon-jovi-is-my-superman.html
    Great Post! I look forward to reading more!

    Like

    1. Yay!! We basically love the same type of music!! I hope you like The Amity Affliction. If you ever need any new music I’ll send you some suggestions. I love a lot of international heavy metal bands than American ones. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

