Seen & Heard | October

shHappy Halloween!

Last month I wasn’t in the mood to watch anything it seemed. I’m happy to say October was the total opposite. It took me a bit but I finally started finding different movies, specials, and TV shows to keep me occupied at night.

There’s nothing better to watch in the month of October is horror films right? Well, I’m not a horror kind of girl. So movies like Beetlejuice and Scooby-Doo and the Alien Invaders have worked perfectly for me! Unfortunately those have been the only Halloweenie films I’ve been recorded lately! I’ve been trying to find Zombie Island of the special Scooby-Doo films, but no luck. However I did find Witch’s Ghost that’ll be on tomorrow morning on my birthday! Besides it being October and the wanting to watch something spooky, we recently had the infamous “Back To The Future” day, Dr. Emmett Brown takes Marty and Jennifer to 2015 from 1985. I’ve been trying to finish the first and second films since the 21st. Did anybody watch Jimmy Kimmel the night of? That was so unbelievably cool!

As far as other movies I’ve watched or recorded this month, there’s this movie Lucy, with Scarlett Johansson and Morgan Freeman. When I first saw the trailer for this film, I was like “ooh, this looks awesome!” It was more so cool! It’s a bit hard to explain what it’s about and what is going on with this character “Lucy” but any movie where Scarlett becomes this powerhouse, you can’t deny yourself to it! I’ve been trying my hardest to get my dad to watch it because he’s also been looking forward to it too! Another film I’ve been looking forward to watching was from a book I’ve been wanting to get, it’s called Still Alice with Julianne Moore, Alec Baldwin, and Kristen Stewart. I already had high expectations for this movie even though I’d never read the book, this was so great! I didn’t necessarily cry like I thought I would, but I thought Julianne Moore deserved an Oscar for this role and the next morning my mom told she did in fact win an Oscar for it! I watched both of these movies in the same morning!

Mid-October, a little bit before my family came down for the weekend our movie channels had a free weekend of both HBO and Cinnemax. We already have HBO so it was nice to have like five extra channels of basically the same films that HBO plays, still patiently waiting for the day Fifty Shades of Grey show up on HBO. It’s been on the Demand previews as new releases on HBO, still haven’t watched it. While we had these other channels I recorded only a couple of movies in the four out of five days, Take The Lead, Transformers, and Focus. I L-O-V-E Take The Lead so much! It’s just another excuse to see Jenna Dewan-Tatum dance again honestly! A couple of days before I taped the first Transformers, Spike premiered the second installment Revenge Of The Fallen and since I have somehow missing that, I had to tape both of them. The first Transformers film is the only one my nana hasn’t seen yet! I’ve actually watched it less than five times since I got started on them. I officially have all the Transformers movies on my DVR too!

And lastly, I’m actually a small fan of Amy Schumer. I can tolerate her, there are a LOT of comedians now that I cannot stand, comedy now has changed in a lot of ways over the past few years. I have trouble getting into comedy movies because I don’t get the humor. My sister is the type of person where she’ll laugh at anything. She will find vines and snapchats and they might be the randomest things ever and she’d just laugh her butt off and I’d be giving her a weird look. I love the Live at wherever shows and I saw that she was finally having one at the Apollo and I knew I was going to miss it because it premiered the same night my family was down so I recorded instead. I was home that Sunday and I watched it that night. It was actually pretty hilarious but that crowd sucked. That ending was the best I’ve ever seen though! Oh my god, too funny!

I haven’t reviewed as much as I thought I would, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been listening to new music. I reviewed Selena Gomez new album Revival earlier this month. I still like that about the same as the first time I heard it. I still need to finish listening to Demi Lovato’s new album Confident but the one that actually weirded me out a bit was MGK’s second album General Admission. It’s pretty good and I listen to VERY little rap nowadays, but I was really impressed with it. Adele’s new song “Hello” is absolutely gorgeous! Hopefully next month I’ll do more reviews!

Leave a Reply

