Song Review: “On My Mind” by Ellie Goulding

I’ve been extremely excited to hear new Ellie Goulding music. I’ve been hooked to “Halcyon Days” lately so I’m happy to see new music popping up all of a sudden.

When I heard this song, which was Monday morning by the way! I was seriously in between at first. Do I like or do I not? It took me a couple of minutes but I really do enjoy it! It’s very chill but has a good poppy/first love kind of feel going on. The beat itself sounds very rock-ish, doesn’t sound like her normal electronica stuff. I’ve heard her new album sounds a little bit different from both of her previous albums and I honestly find this exciting! I need – scratch that, EVERYBODY needs to hear something different on the radio. It’s very catchy as far as lyrics go. Ellie Goulding has the power to draw out your inner most emotions in her music. Even though I prefer her uptempo songs than to the ballads, her music makes me feel good and makes me want to dance!   I can’t wait for her new album!

Something that I’ve always wondered in music especially with American and British singers. How come I can hear what British musicians are saying than to Americans? It doesn’t necessarily matter if they sing really fast or not but I can understand every word they say. I have never had a problem with understanding a word that Ellie has said, I know it’s kind of strange to say that but being able to keep up with the lyrics and the story of the actual song is very important when you go to learn it. My old choir teacher used to tell us that people shouldn’t sing songs if they didn’t feel anything or understand the concept of it. So even though I rarely pay attention to anything but the beat I do think it’s a true statement.

What do you think of Ellie’s new song?

One thought on “Song Review: “On My Mind” by Ellie Goulding

  1. Pingback: Seen & Heard | September | Got Meghan's Blog

Leave a Reply

