Song Review: “Happy Song” by Bring Me The Horizon

Since I wasn’t a big fan of Linkin Park when they first came out like my cousins, I didn’t care much when their music started to change drastically when they released “Minutes to Midnight.” I’ve been able to change right along with bands and artists when they want to go into a new direction with their next album(s) but seems like Bring Me The Horizon might have to work for it.

BMTH was on that list – I wasn’t going to listen to because they were too dark for me. They made Deathcore music and I wasn’t willing to hear their music. At the end of last year, I knew I’d break because I had listened to like four other bands that we’re on the same list. It was just a matter of time. I heard Sempiternal several months after it had come out. Everybody was talking about it and naturally I wanted to know what all of the fuzz was about and then after I heard it, I saw complaints from former fans about their change in sound, so I looked up their past albums and there was a definite change from their first to this album. Oli’s vocals were the focus for a lot of fans, especially when they tried to perform their older songs live. Oli could barely do them anymore. The sound in their albums are still dark in terms of lyrics and sound but they are using more electronic/synths in their newer songs. I liked it because it was something that I was used to hearing.

They’ve recently released their first single of their new album called That’s The Spirit and it’s called “Happy Song” and I didn’t like it when I first heard it. I was actually disappointed in myself a little. The introduction has a bunch of girls shouting the word “Spirit” like a cheer at a game of some sort. Oli’s vocals start out slow, low and then in the chorus he’s higher pitched. He’s shouting-singing, but not like harshly. As much as I love music, I’d hate to see artists and bands release songs that would be good for radio play. I feel like this is one of them unfortunately. It sounds like a song they released in the late winter and there’s nothing special about it. I just don’t like it. I’m sorry! I’m hoping the new album sounds better than this.

I don’t care if you were a fan of them before the change or not, what do you think of “Happy Song?” To try and save Oli”s voice do you think going in the direction like Linkin Park is a good one? 

Leave a Reply

