Song Review: “SummerThing!” by Afrojack featuring Mike Taylor

I know I have no right to judge a song in the whole dance category, especially only listening to a lot of it in the last several months, but I am getting tired of hearing the same rhythm and singers all the time! I actually find the whole idea of if a singer, band, or a DJ getting on the Top 40 countdowns is a curse because once a song has made it onto the list and after so many weeks of it climbing (declining back down!) the countdown, after so long it becomes annoying and you can no longer listen to it, much less love it anymore!

I was REALLY afraid to listen to Afrojack’s new single. Why? Because he’s been on the charts as a featured DJ on David Guetta and Pitbull’s tracks. I let it stop me from actually giving it shot. Well, one afternoon I was busy blogging I guess and it came on Sirius XM BPM and I didn’t turn the channel so I just let it go and listened to it after it being out for a couple of days. I’m actually happy it came on because with my luck I would have never heard it on my own. Guess who feels like a total ass though? This girl.

What the hell is wrong with me??? This song is freaking awesome!  I was a little unsure once I heard the beginning, I was like, “oh god, it sounds like another summer anthem.” To a lot of people, that’s like a good thing, but for me it’s the total opposite. However, it is a good track by itself! As much as it makes me think of a warm beach, I love Mike’s airy voice. It’s not overwhelming; it’s nice and mellow and then comes the drop. My favorite part! It’s totally different from the rest of the song, it’s a great because it would be a perfect beat for dancing, especially if it’s like a competition or whatever, because of the differences of the beat and the tempos changing back and forth. I can’t believe that I told myself that I wasn’t going to listen to this song, I would have been kicking myself if I discovered it two months from now!

What do you think of Afrojack’s new track? What are your thoughts of it? Do you believe in the Top 40 curse too?

One thought on “Song Review: “SummerThing!” by Afrojack featuring Mike Taylor

  1. Pingback: Seen & Heard | June-July | Got Meghan's Blog

Leave a Reply

