Song Review: “Don’t Say a Word” by Xandria

I was literally thinking about this band the other day. I kept thinking “I wonder when their new EP was supposed to be out?” And then like two days later my Spotify restarted for me and my notifications lit up with the number 15. Some of it was just the usually “songs added” onto the playlists I followed from either Spotify and other users. The rest are from artists and bands updating their music profiles. That’s when I noticed that the band Xandria was on there as I was scrolling down!

I love Xandria, like a LOT! I had fallen in love with the band while Manuela Kraller was the lead vocalist. Now that she has left and they have Dutch singer Dianne van Giersbergen (who also a vocalist for the band Ex Libris’) taking over the vibe has changed. I think with each singer they have, it gives a different, but good sound. Everybody is unique in their own ways! Dianne has more of a softer voice, but can hold her notes longer and she’s definitely more powerful from the rest. As for this song, it’s actually not one theirs. It’s a cover of the band Sonata Arctica that will be featured along with another cover song on their EP called “Fire & Ashes” that it’ll be out at the end of this month. I may or may not do a review of it, just depends on how I feel that week!

I don’t usually like to hear the original version of songs that are turned into covers and remixes. I have read the original lyrics though and it is a long song but it is beautiful! I love the powerful dymatics  of Dianne’s voice. I love the sound of the gritty guitars and I don’t usually like solos very much because I feel like in rock/metal song I heard there was one in every song I listened to and after a while, it got a little annoying! This time I didn’t have that cringey feeling that I’m used to feeling in the middle of the track. I actually can’t until I hear the rest of the EP because I need to learn more songs!

If you’re a fan of Sonata Arctica, do you think this a good remake of their song? What is that you liked or disliked about it?

6 thoughts on “Song Review: “Don’t Say a Word” by Xandria

  1. Pingback: Seen & Heard | June-July | Got Meghan's Blog

  2. Fantastic cover version – really powerful throughout, and really got my blood pumping. I actually prefer it to the original, too. Dianne’s vocal range is absolutely sensational.

    Can’t wait for A Tribute to Sonata Arctica to come out (which this cover was originally commissioned for) 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: EP Review: “Fire & Ashes” by Xandria | Got Meghan's Blog

  4. viagensdecamilaCamila

    I wonder if Dianne sings the entire song! Because it seems there is another girl singing in some parts. I landed on this blog looking for this info. Does anyone know anything about it? (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

