EP Review: “Mine” by Phoebe Ryan

This has been a long time coming honestly. I’ve been back and forth if I really wanted to do a review but I ultimately decided to do it. This has to be one of the shortest reviews I’ve ever done!

Phoebe Ryan is a new artist from Los Angles. I’d put her in the pop genre category. I first her song “Mine” while listening to Sirius XM Hits 1 a few months back. I generally loved the fact that the song was so chill in the beat and her voice. For her first single, it has that good poppy sound. It’s nice enough where you can dance to it and it has catchy lyrics too! Perfect way to start out and on the EP itself, there’s a remix included of the song by Michael Keenan featuring Skizzy Mars. I don’t usually say this, but I actually like the original version better!

The second track is called “Dead” and despite having such a morbid title, it doesn’t have a sad sound or meaning to it like you’d think it would. It’s more chill and quiet than you’d think, but it’s not bad. It’s more like a love song. It’s actually pretty good to sway back and forth by yourself or with somebody else. Third track is called “Homie” and I am hooked to these slow introductions to the songs. Phoebe has a great voice for these chill sounds! It’s not overwhelming in any way, but you kind of wish there was something else to it. I think that’s what I was searching for the most in this song. There’s nothing really special about it like the last one. However, it would make the perfect “friend zone” song though! Is that too mean to say? Last song is two covers in one, called “Ignition/Do You” the first song is by R.Kelly and everybody should remember that song from what 2004? It was a big song back in the day, however I don’t remember the second song “Do You” by Miguel but just shows you how much I no longer listen to hip hop/R&B anymore.

What do you think of Phoebe Ryan? What do you like about her first single “Mine” and have you heard her new EP yet?

3 thoughts on “EP Review: “Mine” by Phoebe Ryan

  1. Great review! I’ve not heard of Phoebe Ryan (oops!) but I’m curious to hear her cover of Ignition, who can forget THAT classic? 😉 Also, she has awesome hair, so she’s winning already.

    I’m off to YouTube these, in the meantime, I’ve nominated you for the Infinity Dreams Award: https://adeleinglasses.wordpress.com/2015/07/20/infinity-dreams-award

    If you don’t wish to take part, that’s absolutely fine, I thought that you deserved the recognition anyway! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

