Song Review: “Jekyll and Hyde” by Five Finger Death Punch

My dad got an early Father’s Day gift from me late last week.

On the 15th, I saw an article of a magazine premiering Five Finger Death Punch’s new song and of all days, my sound was not working on my laptop! I was pissed because I couldn’t listen to it but then again neither could my dad! I had been updating him on anything for the past few months. Thankfully, the next day Kayla Riley from Sirius XM Octane premiered it and I listened to it first and like a good, clever girl I recorded it for my dad through my DVR. Surprisingly, you can do this! I didn’t have any expectations of the song and I’m saying that as a good thing. When I heard the song, “Jekyll and Hyde” (the title alone sounds like a FFDP song!) I was so freaking happy! It sounds so badass! I feel like it will be everywhere, be great for any UFC or WWE specials going on this summer! After it ended, I immediately texted my dad and invited him into my room to hear it. He’s not like other people when they listen to new music, you can’t exactly tell if he likes a song as it’s playing, he hides it very well! However, towards the end I started hearing a slight tapping on my door mimicking the beat of the melody. He was liked it!

He finally said that was one of their best songs in a while and that he hopes the whole album was like that!

As much as I loved the song, but I can’t say I want the entire album to sound like that. I want songs to all have a different sound, basically a soul between them! Once he left the room, I had to say something about it on Facebook and he got several likes including a couple from his own friends! If you know what’s been going on with my iTunes, good. If you don’t, your loss because it’s a long story and I’m tired of telling it honestly. Anyways, it’s been messed up! My poor dad has been asking me for WEEKS for new CDs for his truck. We don’t have any of the FFDP albums on discs. I’ve downloaded them via iTunes for my iPod. Well, since it’s been messed up I didn’t know if I could burn him any more CDs. Luckily for him, I can! The laptop froze up twice and I had to restart the whole thing to get to work again after the first time, but he finally got his CD for his truck of some of his favorites plus the new track.

I had to make him the CD last Wednesday. I had put all of the songs onto a playlist for him so I could make it for him the next day, He kept driving me nuts so I caved and did it that night. We talked about how good the song was and then I explained to him that a lot of people were saying it sounded too mainstream, almost like it was made for radio play! Now I don’t believe that for a minute. If that was true, the sound of the entire thing wouldn’t be so brutal. And he agreed that there would be no way in hell the band would do it like that. The funny part of this conversation was the fact he kept confusing the word “mainstream” with “extreme” I guess I was speaking too fast for him, which happens when I talk about music in a general discussion. Don’t believe me, ask my nana, she’ll tell you I’m right! When I finally finished the CD, he stayed up while my mom went to bed and played it in the living room on full blast. I had headphones on and I was still singing along to the songs from the other room. I’m sure my mom wasn’t too happy with neither one of us. Even though I can’t put the song onto my iPod at the moment, I’m happy he’s got it for his truck!

Gotta wait until August for the whole album now!

So what do you think? Do you think the song is too mainstream or think everybody’s lost their damn mind? 

Leave a Reply

