Mixtape: 2009-2015

So I found a nice little prompt by Daily Post a few weeks ago. I saw it on somebody else’s blog but lost it and a few days later found it again but lost who originally did it… I suck at keeping track sometimes! At least I found the site where it came from though! Anyways the theme of this prompt is about music and you know I’ll do anything that’s music based! So I hope you enjoy and here is the prompt:

Put together a a musical playlist of songs that describe your life, including what you hope your future entails.

I’ve actually been tempted to do something similar on here. If I made a list of songs that describes my whole life, we’d be here forever and it’ll get boring fast. So I figured 2009 is a good time to start because that’s when my preferences in music started to evolve and I got into my rock and metal phase. As for the second part of the prompt, I hope I still love music and find different genres as exciting as I do right now. I also hope that musicians want to create different sounds so it doesn’t all sound the same as the others. I feel like that’s what I’m missing now that I’m in dance music, there’s hardly anything out there that feels unique. Now that I’ve said that, let’s start our little playlist from music I got into in 2009 to right now!


I’ll try to keep each year with only three videos so you don’t feel overwhelming, but I’m not promising anything! Back in 2009 I got in Linkin Park, Hollywood Undead, brokenCYDE, Skillet, and Within Temptation. I don’t know why but with every year, I have like four to five acts that I was hooked to all at the same time! This was the start of the very long road of discovering rock music and slowly getting into heavy metal in the process.

In 2010, I was going through a rough/turning point in my life. I was still heavy hooked to Linkin Park, but I had grown to like bands like Lacuna Coil, My Darkest Days, In This Moment, and Five Finger Death Punch too! From August to October of ’10 I don’t remember much in that time frame, but I do remember MDD being a very good distraction for me and Matt Walst sweet talked his way right into my heart. 

Now this is where it gets a little fuzzy, because I don’t really remember how it got started… My sister had a boyfriend at the time who lived with his family in Italy. He went to a club because apparently youngsters can do that there and he saw Skrillex there. He messaged her and told her to go look him up on YouTube, she did and got majority of her friends in Skrillex. The only problem is I don’t know if I was already a fan before this happened, but at this time Skrillex had worked with the band Korn too! At this time, I got into Tiesto and Kaskade too! 

Ahh, 2012 was the year were I thought the world was going to end! For some odd reason listening to bands like Nightwish were helpful in getting me to calm down about the world ending! At this time, I was also listening to Ellie Goulding and Flyleaf. I also got into Motley Crue too, this is what happens when you read two books by Mr. Sixx and discovered his second band Sixx:A.M. in the process!

You know, 2013 doesn’t seem that long ago! When I was a teenager, I had quite a few bands that I swore I’d never listen to. Ever. Well, I did. Korn started it off two years prior and then I got into more classic rock bands, then I started listening to Disturbed and Slipknot which surprised the shit out of me! I also got into Xandria and Epica at this time too! Towards the end I got into Banks and Zella Day!

To think 2014 was literally eight months ago is a little weird! I was listening to Of Mice & Men and Bring Me The Horizon for the heavy metal part, but then I jumped into Celtic Woman and Sarah Brightman. By July I had gotten into the One Direction craziness and that ruled for seven months straight. 

Here we are at 2015, once February came around I got back into my dance music. I’ve been really into Diplo, Martin Garrix, Alesso, and DJ Snake lately!  I’m kind of hoping to get back into heavy metal towards the beginning of August  and I don’t know what genre I’ll get into next after that but it should be interesting!

5 thoughts on “Mixtape: 2009-2015

  1. Pingback: Summary | Best Of 2015 | Got Meghan's Blog

Leave a Reply

