Bebo & MySpace Memories

This post has been a work on progress. Another blogger friend of mine Paisley-May Says wrote a post about 26 Things Only MySpace Kids Will Remember back in February. I had her permission to do something similar but I kept forgetting about it and every time I did remember to do something with it, I could never get the words to unfold.

During my early teenage years, I never heard of Facebook or Twitter. Back in the day, all teenagers that had internet access was on two websites: Bebo and MySpace. As adults, it can be a little bit embarrassing to say that you had an account on MySpace, because let’s face it, it doesn’t matter how much it tries to reinvent itself it’ll never be as good as it once was! I feel my time on the site was short-lived because at that time, MySpace was getting a bad rap of strangers and pedophiles talking and abducting people. So my parents were not okay with me being on the site, I think I had my profile after my mom caved and said if I hid it well from my dad I could have one. I made mine in 2007 I think, I used it up until 2011 when I lost my password to it. I’ve just tried to see if my profile was still on there but I would hope after a few years of no usage the company would remove all of the pages, you know?

What’s funny though is that you’d think MySpace was my first social media account but it actually wasn’t. Bebo was my very first one I ever had! I had this one even longer than MySpace. I made my profile in 2004 or 2003, we didn’t get an actual home computer and internet until around that time because my mom needed to have it for her schooling, it also helped if I needed to use it for my homework as well. I honest to God didn’t even make my first email until maybe 2004, it was made while one of my friends was staying over at the house. At that time, EVERYBODY I went to school with had a Bebo account. I kind of remember the whole outlook of how the profiles looked like, I think Bebo was much bigger than MySpace as the lettering was smaller but the entire page could be bigger on how much you could add to it, like they had a word count but it wasn’t in the 140-200 characters range. You had your friends section, comments, groups, picture albums, and you could add music videos to your profile.In a way, Bebo was our Facebook at that time.

There were a lot of firsts with using Bebo, I was the first one in my family to get one these things and didn’t have to worry about my parents or any other family members snooping on me like I have with MySpace, Facebook, and Twitter. Of course, I never kept anything hidden from my mom whenever I used the site. She knew about my first ever friend that wasn’t from school. I don’t have a clue what her name was but she was 15 and lived in Atlanta. She was very friendly to me and thought my disability was cool! As the years went on, more and more of my friends from school were leaving Bebo to move on with MySpace. I actually stayed behind and found other friends through the groups I was apart of on there. There were mostly music based groups on mine, which sounds like me! Although I was making friends with different from all over the US, I also found my first hate group too. There’s nothing like a bunch of people behind a computer screen making fun of people with disabilities. And through this, I found out that people who don’t understand people or kids like me have a thing of calling us “vegetables” because apparently we’re all lifeless and can’t do much. This wasn’t the most ideal lesson I had to learn at the time, but I’m glad I did!

One of my favorite memories of using Bebo was during the summer of 2006 I think. I had just graduated from middle school and now going into high school. A video popped up on everybody’s music video section. I thought it was kind of strange to see a video of what looked like a bunch of my friends being goofy! It was a video of the “journey” to get from the eighth grade section to the cafeteria. At that time, the eighth graders were the last ones to eat lunch. The four of us in wheelchairs would always leave about 5 minutes early to get to our table and eat, so we never got to be apart of the “journey” down with the rest of our classmates. So this video was refreshing in a way because I’ve always wondered what went on in the hallway. The video was apparently not planned which was good because all of the boys seemed too hyper! At one point, two of the boys were wrestling by a section of lockers and one boy picked another up and put him on his shoulders and said, “here, take a picture.” The one who was taping it said “I’m recording it.” Everybody’s like “oh!” I think the video was probably 25 minutes long. If it hadn’t been for the teachers watching them walking down, it probably would have been shorter!

Bebo was good as far as layouts and having a very wide range of pre-made ones. MySpace was great to find awesome music. That’s how I got in brokeNCYDE back in the day, technically my cousin Kristi and sister still used their MySpace profiles before the end of 2011 so that’s how they found them. Oh, my other cousin met his future wife through MySpace too! During the first times we got to meet her she was the one who helped guide me through putting my first layout on my profile! I could not figure it out and thankfully, she knew how to do it! I was the only 13 year old with a Playboy bunny layout. Oh, there were worse things! As I have never figured out MySpace password and stuff, I have always remembered my Bebo password. In 2012, I decided that it was time to delete that piece of my past. I feel like even though we had all of the stories of kids getting kidnapped by creepy people, we would still put our life stories on our profiles. I’m really hoping MySpace has deleted my old profile I’m going to lie! So does this post make you remember your childhood social media sites too? Which do you think was better? Bebo or MySpace?

2 thoughts on “Bebo & MySpace Memories

    1. Oh god I forgot about MSN! I’m pretty sure I had the same amount of people that I have in my phone right now! Less than 20 people and I talked to about 3 of them. That’s probably the saddest thing you’ll hear all week! Lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

