Album Review: “Exhale” by Plumb

My plan was to do three album reviews from last month, but I was only happy with one album in May. I had high hopes for them all but I’ve gotten very picky with my music again. I’m very happy that back in 2012 I found Plumb and her then brand new album “Need You Now” because that was what I needed at the time. She recently released her album “Exhale” and this was different for me, genre wise because I don’t normally listen to worship music on a daily basis. It’s usually the other way around! Every once in a while though, everybody needs a good break for their normal routine.

I found out she was working on new music I think late 2013 when she posted a picture of her at the keyboard and she captioned it that she was writing a song about her daughter Clementine. That instantly brought out the aws and yays from me! When I looked at the track list on Facebook I was taken back about it being more about God and religion. I’m not afraid to listen to Christian music, I mean I’ll listen to Skillet, Flyleaf, and Fireflight all the time. I think with those bands, as much as their open about talking about God in their lyrics. Sometimes a person can listen to a song and not know what it’s about and you can intercept it in any way you want. I didn’t hear a lot of religious messages in her last album. It was more about finding the love again I think. This one has a different direction but it’s not so bad. I was still pretty pumped to listen to it and it still has a great sound and to me, that’s all that matters! Before I go on ahead with this review I think I should say that I do believe in God and I’m interested in different religions, but I don’t like to be preached about God and I think that’s why I’ve never liked worship/gospel music so much. I hope you understand. Now that I’ve said that we can go and start this!

The first song is the title track called “Exhale” and before she really announced she was releasing a new album, she kept posting pictures to promo this song and others and she kept hashtagging this word. I just thought she was using it like an affirmation! I’m slow at times if you didn’t know that by now! I really like this one. I really want to learn the words to this song really bad! The next is called, “Lord I’m Ready Now” and this was the song that kind of made me “worry” while I saw that track list for the first time. I like the message behind this song because we’ve all had times when we’re ready to give up and we tend to forget we have nobody on our side. We do have though, God is on our side! He’s always there for us when we need to talk to somebody or to be guided somewhere. I didn’t like “Smoke” as much as I do now. I don’t know why because I think the sound is just beautiful!

This was a word that she kept hashtaging on her Facebook, I saw a video for it which made me excited but I never got to watch it! I must’ve been very distracted that week! The song is called “Resurrection” and even though it has elements that I should like, it’s not one of my favorites at the moment. The fifth song is called “Great Is Our God” and this is another favorite of mine. When the album first came out, I only got to this song and stopped listening to it altogether. I think I might’ve been afraid to listen to them out loud without my headphones because I’ve been teased once while listening to Flyleaf and their religious based songs, so I’ve been known to wait to listen to these types of songs at night. However, if I’m at my lowest sometimes these types of songs make me cry (in a good way) and I generally feel better afterwards. Okay, next song is “True Love” and I like the little playful beat and the opening of using a fairy tale beginning just adds the “cuteness” of it. It’s very poppy but it’s good!  I really like lullaby/music box feel that the next song brings. It’s called “Broken Places” and the only way I can describe the words “music box” is like a light, gentle tune. Tiffany’s voice brings out that powerful sound it needs!

We’re almost done from the standard version. The next song is called “Faithful” and it’s another song that I feel like I should like, because I can hear a piano and Tiffany’s voice is soft, but I feel like it’s a bit dull! “Champion” starts off with this upbeat sound, it almost makes you want to start dancing or jump up and down! It would be a good song to motivate runners before or to keep going in a big run in the summertime. I really like this one!! This starts off pretty and slow, then it becomes a bit dramatic. It’s called “Sleep Would Be Sweet” and I think it’s safe to say that this will become another favorite of mine! I would like to see a lyrical/contemporary dance out of this song! I think it would be a beautiful way to make this song come alive! That’s just my opinion! The last two songs of the album: “When You Walk Into The Room” and I thought this one would be about her husband or her kids, but I can see it being about God too. I like the sound of it, not too much to say about the words though. And the last one is called “Restored” and it’s very airy in the beginning, you can sway back and forth to it. I love the message behind this song too. What you think of the word “restored” is what the song is about and that’s a good way to end anything, especially an album.

I don’t know why I was so worried about this, it’s actually really great!! I don’t like only two songs out of twelven. That’s a new record for me I think! You’re honestly not going to like a whole album off the bat. I’ve never done it that’s for sure! I would rate this as a 9/10 and that’s my honest opinion. It really surprised me of how good it was but you can’t hate on Plumb’s music. If you’ve listened to the album, what are your favorite tracks off of it?

Leave a Reply

